Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Having problems drawing a simple line!!!  (Read 2672 times)

rayj00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Having problems drawing a simple line!!!
« on: August 13, 2008, 02:29:07 am »


Ok, what in the world (no pun intended) am I missing here? I'm using the latest 0.95 download on a Vista 64 bit box.

All I am trying to do is draw a simple path. When I choose the straight or curved line icon and click in a view pane, I get a tiny box.  If I click again it goes away. Holding the LMB and dragging I get nothing besides the little box.

Also, the outlined box next to the arrow...when I choose it and click and drag inside a view pane, I get basically garbage as I drag. When I let the mouse button go I get those tiny boxes again. Click again inside the same view and they go away.

I am really feeling dumb right now........

Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems drawing a simple line!!!
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 06:30:22 am »

Are you using Vista?  Often vista users experience artifacts like those when using Anim8or.  One of the ways to work around that is putting anim8or in Windows XP compatability mode.
Logged

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: Having problems drawing a simple line!!!
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 11:03:40 am »

You mean like these:

Make sure you also have the latest drivers installed (especially for the graphics card).

Although I've never been able to get those boxes go away; it's something I have yo live with.
Logged

Suppastar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems drawing a simple line!!!
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 05:39:34 pm »

Are you using Vista?  Often vista users experience artifacts like those when using Anim8or.  One of the ways to work around that is putting anim8or in Windows XP compatability mode.


I'm running XP and that happens to me too? It's not as bad as the one Tanzim posted but close. I think maybe it is a driver issue. I'm running an Nvidia card. anyone else? problem could be related.
Logged

Monex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
    • My homepage (not done)
Re: Having problems drawing a simple line!!!
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 07:53:29 pm »

I'm running Vista with a Nvidia card, and I had the same problems, until I only choose "Disable Desktop"
Logged

rayj00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems drawing a simple line!!!
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2008, 02:40:02 am »

You mean like these:

Make sure you also have the latest drivers installed (especially for the graphics card).

Although I've never been able to get those boxes go away; it's something I have yo live with.

This is exactly what I am seeing.
Logged