Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 0.97c huge bug  (Read 9571 times)

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
0.97c huge bug
« on: September 18, 2008, 05:26:32 am »

Today, I was rendering in the newest version 0.97c. It was only 18 frames, when it got to 15 it closed the program without warning!

Then I brought it back up to se if it did it again, I tried the same thing and this time it closed on the 2nd or 3rd frame...  ???

Then I went into 0.95 and it worked perfect!  :-\

I was just reporting this.

Feel free to discuss.  ;)
See you peoples. :)
Logged

bamman62

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2008, 05:32:59 am »

Upload the file so Steve can take a look at it. :P it is how things are fixed.
Logged

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2008, 09:33:45 am »

Did you use the same codec both times?
And did you use the September 9 build or the September 10 build?
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2008, 08:04:55 pm »

What OS are  you using?  Is multithreaded rendeing on?  What codec and image size?   Also I can't do anything about this without the .an8 project.
Logged

VBSmiles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2008, 09:19:28 pm »

Just a note that in windows vista, rendering can show up outside the program's window, and seems to loose resources in ram, though I have not verified such. The program often crashes without any apearent reasoning. ( thus my theory of resource leakage )

This is even after running in xp mode AND running it without descktop composition

Am hopeful that this is helpful to Steven in some way as well as those using vista.

edit

Interestingly...... no problems occur when in full screen and no other windows open.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2008, 12:04:07 am by VBSmiles »
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2008, 06:39:20 am »

VBSmiles - Anything being drawn outside the Anim8or window is a driver bug.  There is no way that Anim8or can do that on it's own.  What graphics chip do you have?
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2008, 07:32:13 am »

Just curious with Vista causing lots of problems with running Anim8or how will it fare when the new Windows 7 is released ?

Glad Vista is being dumped!
Logged
O

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2008, 11:42:36 am »

Vienna?
Well, I heard its going to have an incredibly small Kernel (few hundred Kb's), but have the 'Vista look', so that would mean low RAM requirements but messed up graphics still.
Of course, I got this information awhile ago, so they might have updated (more accurate) information on the MS site.

BTW: we're being a little off-topic so maybe we should stop...
Logged

RnDr FOX

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Just Relax
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2008, 12:13:52 am »

well i dont think that windows 7 is coming out till 2010 and why cant they just patch vista?
Logged

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2008, 04:10:49 am »

You mean like another Service Pack?
Easy, making an OS based on Vista (but better), and selling it as something completely different means more money for Microsoft.
They have to give Service Packs for free.
Logged

onespirit5777

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2008, 04:10:13 pm »

Quote
VBSmiles - Anything being drawn outside the Anim8or window is a driver bug.  There is no way that Anim8or can do that on it's own.  What graphics chip do you have?

When I render 1024x768 the image goes off screen - Is that alright or is that a bug

I use Nvidia 6600
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2008, 08:32:33 pm »

That's alright, it normally does that.  Steve has implemented the possibility to move the image around so you can see what's happening in the next version which isn't out yet.  I believe this will only work in multithread mode.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2008, 11:22:11 pm »

I though you ment it drew on the desktop or another apps window.  If it's too big to be seen that that's just the way Anim8or works today.
Logged

VBSmiles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #13 on: September 21, 2008, 11:56:55 pm »

VBSmiles - Anything being drawn outside the Anim8or window is a driver bug.  There is no way that Anim8or can do that on it's own.  What graphics chip do you have?

Intel Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile


Quote
I though you ment it drew on the desktop or another apps window.  If it's too big to be seen that that's just the way Anim8or works today.

hehe, must have got my posting mixed with someone elses. Yes it IS drawing on other apps windows and desktop

I havent had a chance to respond until now, sorry for any inconvienence.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2008, 12:00:10 am by VBSmiles »
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: 0.97c huge bug
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2008, 06:46:14 am »

"Intel Graphics" for their chipsets are by far the buggiest drivers in existance.  However they are gertting better and are fixing problems like this one.  The only advice I can give is to try updating your driver (or buy an NVIDIA chip next time but you might think I was biased since I work there :))
Logged
Pages: [1] 2