Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Ambient Occluder Example  (Read 6621 times)

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1545
    • View Profile
Ambient Occluder Example
« on: September 21, 2008, 09:55:26 pm »

The v0.97d update supports Ambient Occlusion, a global light solution for ambient illumination.  It uses the background as an area light.  Normally you use it to improve the realism of shadows between close objects, in crevices, etc.  In the extreme it can be used as the only light source for an extire scene as shown by this example.  It uses ambient occlusion, global intensity = 0.0 (i.e. effectively no lights) and an ambient intensity = 3.14 to treat the whole sky as a light.  This technique requires a lot of samples to get rid of the noise for this.  One image uses 64x AA and the other uses 256x.

Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 571
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2008, 10:07:44 pm »

wonderful!!!

Steve..
Logged

CowTail

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2008, 10:12:13 pm »

Awesome :) Makes for pretty WIP renders in a flash instead of trying to mimmick global lighting.

A few things I think needs mentioning about your preview page before people get confused:

1. It says the attribute needs to be "AmbientOcclusion" on the page, whereas it has to be "AmbientOccluder"
2. "Download v0.97c Preview Executable" is still the label for the download portion.

Great job, faster smaller updates like these make things much more exciting!
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1545
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2008, 10:26:46 pm »

Thanks, I've fixed to preview page.  That was the original name I used but I forgot to update my notes when I changed it.
Logged

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2008, 10:38:10 pm »

Great! Thank you so much for this!
Logged

VBSmiles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2008, 02:23:04 am »



this is what I got using AmbientOccluder......
« Last Edit: September 22, 2008, 02:29:06 am by VBSmiles »
Logged

VBSmiles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2008, 02:46:24 am »

Ok, got it .... need to add a light :P

BUT the anim8or ground doesn't effect it.
Logged

Guilherme Amorim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Jr. Member \o/
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2008, 04:36:33 pm »

Thx Steve, I was waiting this update, I don't know if you remember but I asked it, not in that words, but that was it :)


Great work!

I'm your fan!  :-*
 xD
Logged
Made in Brazil

computeruser28

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2008, 01:37:58 pm »

very nice, it makes the model look as if it's really there.
Logged

Guilherme Amorim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Jr. Member \o/
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2008, 03:58:07 pm »

Just thinking about ease, what do you think about a check button?
I always forget the names of the attributes =P

It's not a critic, just a suggestion

^^
Thank you
« Last Edit: September 23, 2008, 09:18:34 pm by Guilherme Amorim »
Logged
Made in Brazil

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2008, 05:13:29 pm »

Quote
Just thinking about ease, what you think a bout a check button?
I do agree that it would be much easier and much more useful this way.
Logged

CowTail

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Ambient Occluder Example
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2008, 06:55:20 pm »

A general "Pick from the list of attributes" button replacing the "User Attributes Editor" dialog (and even a brief description of each item in the list) would be great instead/as well. This list would be dynamic based on if it's a material/object/figure/sequence/scene, showing only the items pertaining to those said editors. Maybe even make it accessible to ASL so that users can add script-required attributes to the list to make it easier for the end user.

Something like....


 -------------------------------                   -------------------------------        ------------------------
|      List of predefined       |                 |          User Picked          |      |      Description       |
|           Attributes          |     [ --> ]     |           Attributes          |      |      Of Selected       |
|                               |                 |                               |      |       Attribute        |
|                               |     [ NEW ]     |                               |      |                        |
|                               |                 |                               |      |                        |
|                               |     [ EDIT ]    |                               |      |                        |
|                               |                 |                               |      |                        |
|                               |    [ DELETE ]   |                               |      |                        |
|                               |                 |                               |      |                        |
 -------------------------------                   -------------------------------        ------------------------


The --> Button transfers in-house attributes (pops up the dialog to define the float/int/strings/etc first) from the list. "NEW" of course allows the user to define a custom one, "DELETE" deletes from the selected User Picked Attributes, and "EDIT" edits the selected User Picked Attributes.

Also, in order to rename an attribute we have to delete and then make a new one, it'd be nice to be able to rename it without having to do that...

And better yet, just make it a global attributes editor so that you can edit any attribute from any editor. Just color-code the listing and add filter checkboxes to the top of the dialog to filter All/Material/Object/Figure/Sequence/Scene/Whatever from the list.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2008, 07:05:56 pm by CowTail »
Logged