Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: VISTA: Bad Working Directory For Scripts?  (Read 3386 times)

headwax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 600
    • View Profile
    • Headwax's Website
VISTA: Bad Working Directory For Scripts?
« on: November 27, 2008, 06:50:07 am »

Hya

Finally got anim8pr to work in vista.

Finally got around to downloading all the scripts.

Now when I try to set the directory I gat a 'bad working directory" error.

Any one have a work around to this... please :)

I have tried typing in the directory and going via the browse button.



« Last Edit: November 28, 2008, 09:32:37 am by headwax »
Logged

headwax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 600
    • View Profile
    • Headwax's Website
Re: VISTA: Bad Working Directory For Scripts?
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 09:38:16 am »

Aha,

Well I tried running it as administrator but no luck.

I wonder if I copy an exe  file from one xp machine to my vista will it also come with the old preferences?

Any other suggestions welcome?

Edit: so;ved the problem with the same file that solved the other problem.

The file atioglx.dll needs to be in all the directorie s with an anim8or.exe for my laptop to run on vista with it's ati card.

It wasn't in the directory of the exe I was trying to change the directory preferences for  :(

This info might help someone else.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2008, 10:27:08 am by headwax »
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 929
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: VISTA: Bad Working Directory For Scripts?
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2008, 10:46:26 am »

Crikey, I reckon I'll stick with XP for a while longer!
Logged

headwax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 600
    • View Profile
    • Headwax's Website
Re: VISTA: Bad Working Directory For Scripts?
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2008, 08:49:19 am »

Ha! That's cause you are smart :)

I was lucky I found the solution. Because anim8or wouldn't work so far I have tried Hexagon, ai, carrara, wings, blender, shapeshifter (?) truespace 7 and a couple more whose names have fallen by the wayside.

I always came back to anim8or on my xp but I use my vista laptop at work. And anim8or still wouldn't work on it.

I downloaded GLdirect, I tried to run a machine within a machine, I tried booting linux from a dvd, I updated my drivers about five times ..... and nothing worked ....UGUGHUIGH!

Finally I got annoyed and started relearning blender seriously.

Blender worked fine on my xp and , surprise, not on my vista laptop.

I really got annoyed :) and went searching for how to fix blender in vista.

After a few hours I found the solution (download this expand that run this exe and get the blah blah dll and stick it in your blender directory.

And blender worked :)

Then I thought, gee, what would happen if I stuck then ^&*^&(%$%$#.dll in my anim8or directory?

and :) :) :)
« Last Edit: November 29, 2008, 08:51:50 am by headwax »
Logged

sagedavis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: VISTA: Bad Working Directory For Scripts?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2008, 03:29:46 am »

um so, did you stick that dll in your anim8or directory? Did it make it work?
Would be nice to know, if it did, which one it was and where to get it?
I just got vista as I was forced to buy a new laptop. No problems yet, but cryptic posts aren't really helpful to those of us who are vista-clueless.
Thanks
Sage
Logged

headwax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 600
    • View Profile
    • Headwax's Website
Re: VISTA: Bad Working Directory For Scripts?
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2008, 04:59:27 am »

Hi

Sorry sage. You are lucky you have no trouble. I downloaded the latest catalyst drivers for ati and extracted the atioglx.dll  file and placed t my anim8or directory. It worked.

Only relevant for ati cards and vista.
Logged