Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: making 15agon  (Read 5510 times)

aGMuser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
making 15agon
« on: December 05, 2008, 08:43:16 pm »

I click n-gon and created on sixagon, but when I clicked it, there was no option to change it to 25 agon.I clicked the icon and search the manu without result.How to do it?
Logged

odp04y

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 11:13:47 pm »

Go to Build>Primitives>Ngon and type 25 in dialog box, build new ngon with ngon tool and you'll have a 25agon
Logged

aGMuser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2008, 11:34:32 am »

Ok, thanks!
Logged

aGMuser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2008, 12:05:07 pm »

It looks like the 15agon has been created without face.How I can add face to my 15agon?
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2008, 12:32:53 pm »

It looks like the 15agon has been created without face.How I can add face to my 15agon?

Select it build>fill. Now the n-gon fill with faces. If you want just one face: select all the faces in point edit mode and hit shift+m.

aGMuser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2008, 08:33:41 pm »

Thaks, Floyd!But there is still something which I can not do myself --->
Logged

mcheccyb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2008, 09:51:46 pm »

you can't have a shape with acute angles with only 1 face behave how you want to, you shall have to split it up into multiple faces i'm afraid.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2008, 10:13:32 pm »

Basically if you have a single face, it cannot be concave or you'll get something like this.  Therefore, you need to split the single face into multiple faces that are not concave (you can do this with the cut tool).
Logged

aGMuser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2008, 10:26:29 am »

But the upper part is concave with one face, right?
Logged

Francesco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2008, 11:21:13 am »

Yes you're right aGMuser, the upper part is concave too but it doesn't show the same problem of the lower part. This is quite strange. Could you post your project or maybe just the exported object that shows that behaviour?
Logged

Claude

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2008, 04:34:09 pm »

But the upper part is concave with one face, right?
The videocard driver tesselate your polygone into triangles
and your videocard renders it as a convex polygone
resulting in a folded polygone.The bottom part is doubled.
Logged

aGMuser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2008, 06:17:37 pm »

Yes you're right aGMuser, the upper part is concave too but it doesn't show the same problem of the lower part. This is quite strange. Could you post your project or maybe just the exported object that shows that behaviour?
There is nothing complex.I just made 15agon, convert it to mesh and reshape it, pressed built>fill, convert all faces into one.This is it.

But the upper part is concave with one face, right?
The videocard driver tesselate your polygone into triangles
and your videocard renders it as a convex polygone
resulting in a folded polygone.The bottom part is doubled.
I can't understand you.Will you explain me more detailed?
Logged

Claude

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2008, 08:14:07 pm »

The bottom part is made of 2 layers.
A good way to see it would be to select the
4 points inside the polygone(fig 2) and move them
into the screen.Then rotate the mesh to see how it's rendered.
Logged

aGMuser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2008, 08:45:31 pm »

Never mind, it turned out it isn't a problem. :)
Logged

Francesco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: making 15agon
« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2008, 11:35:08 pm »

Good that you got rid of the problem aGMuser.

Claude, thank you for the details, I didn't know those particulars but after reading your posts and playing around within Anim8or I undestood the mechanism.
Logged