Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: new - line_points script - might be available, if you'll help me here ;)  (Read 7229 times)

vobla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile

Hi all,

I've been working on my model recently and noticed that it would be very usefull to line up points.
I've coded very simple script for that, whitch has lack of functionality. I mean, at the moment it recognizes
all the selected points and lines it to a mesh coord center in Y axis - (0.0, Y, 0.0).

I would like to add some functionality and user interface:

- User can choose to which axis points should be lined;
- User can choose wheater line to a mesh center, rand point coords or coords specified;
- User can ajust X, Y and Z for point lining (of course one of those would be ignored depending on axis chosen);

Thing is I can't find the way to add user interface. I mean it's not a "Parametric Mesh Plug-in" script, so there is nothing
to return in this case.

Thanks in advance. ;)
Logged

Claude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: new - line_points script - might be available, if you'll help me here ;)
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2008, 03:05:35 am »

Have a look.

Bye
Claude
Logged

vobla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: new - line_points script - might be available, if you'll help me here ;)
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 03:35:01 pm »

Havent tried it yet, but I'm sure it works fine.
I've got one question though. Will it be posible in the future ASL to set UI for these type of scripts?
Logged

Claude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: new - line_points script - might be available, if you'll help me here ;)
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 07:09:16 pm »

I don't know if there will ever be a UI for modeling script,but since
version 0.96,there's a new feature called "attribute".
You can see it under the Object menu.

I know that adding this feature to other items and making these
accessible to ASL, is on Steve's TODO list.When it's available,I don't
see why we couldn't use it as a form of interface for modeling script.
We will have to wait and see.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: new - line_points script - might be available, if you'll help me here ;)
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2008, 09:53:46 pm »

What you need is a dialog that you can prompt users for input from a running script.  I have this partially implemented (and so not yet available).  It's quite a bit of work to do a full blown dialog so I want to limit it to simple things initaliiy.  I plan to add prompts for an integer, a float, a 3d point, and a string as well as a Yes/No answer to a question.  Comments?
Logged

vobla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: new - line_points script - might be available, if you'll help me here ;)
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2008, 11:49:46 pm »

Also be great:

+ Radio buttons;
+ Check boxes (is that Yes/No ?..)

And sorry for the offtopic, but also it would be great if Anim8tor would react witch button was pressed on the script button (left/right) and let user work with mouse (like now) or pop a form for entering exact mesurements.
Eg.: User want to create cube or extrude face (let's stick to a cube :) ). He press left mouse button on the cube icon and click LMB again on work area and drag to make it particular size, or he press RMB and form pops with fields: coords, width, lenght, height, divisions, etc.

That way user could get exact results. O course, you can always double click on the new object and modify params, but if you know the exact params for your new object/modification it would take less time. And it's quite easy to make it programicly, isn't it ;)
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: new - line_points script - might be available, if you'll help me here ;)
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2008, 08:46:33 pm »

Vobla, right-clicking is already used to add multiple objects.  But bringing up a dialog is a good idea, perhaps with the middle button?  Or with Ctrl-click?
Logged

vobla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: new - line_points script - might be available, if you'll help me here ;)
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2008, 02:15:29 pm »

Oh, thats handy.. ;)
Anyway, there are loads of unused methods, like you said: mid button, ctrl+click, etc, etc ;)
Logged