Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

Author Topic: ASL Scripts Database  (Read 70474 times)

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #30 on: August 01, 2009, 09:04:41 am »

This is not how shape scripts work...

Do the following to install a shape script:
  • Put all your scripts into one folder.
  • Go to the "File > Configure" menu and fill the "Scripts" field with the folder where you have all the scripts.
  • Make sure the "Preload scripts" checkbox is checked.
  • Click OK, restart Anim8or.

Now you should see several extra buttons in the left pannel (right under the "sphere", "cylinder", "cube" etc. buttons). Each of the new buttons represents one of the shape scripts you have installed. Click the button and create a shape just like you would create a sphere.

You can double-click the newly created shape to edit its parameters... And that's all :)
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #31 on: August 02, 2009, 04:09:54 am »

Ah, you're clicking Scripts>>Load Script.

What you need to do is take your script file you want to use, and create a folder anywhere on your computer, and go to Anim8or File>>Configure And then click >>Plugins/Scripts (or whatever) directory and select the folder you created for scripts. (If you've done this already, then never mind)

Then take your file and move it to the new folder.

Restart Anim8or.

As for a spring script, Steve made one, it's on the main site. ;)
Hope I've helped,
3Dgeek
Logged

Gringo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #32 on: January 11, 2010, 06:27:50 pm »

Hi everyone!

Just wondering if it is possible to change the way my scene loops in anim8or? By that I mean that I have two Figures in my scene and they are identical in every respect except that one Figure must have a few frames at the beginning that are not in the other. After these first frames are played I want to simply loop both Figures identically from there on... If I use Anim8or's built in looping option it goes back to the first frames on every loop. I want to run those first frames once and loop the remainder. Can I do this with a script and can anyone show me how... I'm not a coder so I don't have a clue
Logged

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #33 on: January 11, 2010, 06:42:03 pm »

If you want your figures to do the same movement repeatedly, I recommend creating a sequence:
http://www.anim8or.com/manual/6_sequence_editor.html

ASL scripts in the scene mode are very limited in the current version of Anim8or, it's not possible to animate a figure using a script.
Logged

Paulo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Love 3D !
    • View Profile
    • Paulo's web site : 3D art with Anim8or
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #34 on: January 31, 2010, 06:04:18 pm »

Hi ! I created a VRML exporter for Anim8or :)

The informations :

1. VRML exporter
2. Paulo
3. http://jedix.free.fr/vrml/export_vrml_plugin.a8s
4. Export in VRML format (web 3D format)
5. Forum topic : http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=3168.0
6. Attachment

Thank you !  :)
Logged
Paulo, French 3D Maker




My VRML exporter for anim8or : http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=3168.0

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #35 on: January 31, 2010, 09:11:08 pm »

Added to the database! Thanks for posting it ;)
Logged

freesailor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #36 on: October 10, 2010, 03:57:47 am »

so here's a script for a roof:
1. it can draw a hip roof, or a gable roof, or a dutch gable roof.
2. pitch, fascia, and barge rafter sizes are parameters, along with length and width.
3. dutch gables can be placed anywhere between the building wall and the roof peak.
4. I also have written a program that will make a script from a model... in perl.. if anyone would like it, let me know..
it only works if the model is a single mesh, and doesn't keep the texcoords, either(was getting a little burned out on it:)),
but it will work on fairly complicated meshes (I tried it on a mesh with 125,000 faces...heh... took a while but copied the model perfectly.)
Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 569
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #37 on: October 11, 2010, 12:33:44 am »

cool roofs script!! :)

be good too, if create other "types" of roofs generation,
because this create only "roofs AMERICAN", right?

:)


« Last Edit: October 11, 2010, 12:36:01 am by neirao »
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #38 on: October 11, 2010, 05:42:00 am »

yeah, good script freesailor, couple of the params are disabled I notice though, will they be enabled at some stage?
Logged
O

freesailor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #39 on: October 11, 2010, 07:13:33 am »

hmmmm, tnx to both of you for taking the time to check it out..........
first for Neirao... I'm not exactly sure if you mean things like dormers and such... you could build these with the same script and another mesh to form the walls.... but maybe I'll try to use some attributes to do it automatically, if thats possible.

and Kreator, those disabled params are for rafter tail centers and extra was for removing the ceiling, but I wasn't happy with the way the rafters worked out, so I removed them... then I wrote another script that draws just the framing for the roof to work out how to add the rafters to the first script... will update roofs.an8 soon and repost it if you're wanting to use it for whatever... if you are into drawing houses, you might like my windows script, its got some pretty cool features like variable number of stiles and mulliens, etc... and you can combine two or more windows to make fairly intricate compound windows... let me know
aloha
freesailor
Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 569
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #40 on: October 11, 2010, 02:47:45 pm »

Hi freesailor,  :)

i try say then theres other types of roofs:

AMERICAN ROOF(your script mader!)



BRAZILIAN ROOFs..




JAPAN ROOF


etc..

i think is good if script can generate "Countrys types of Roofs"! :D

cheers


« Last Edit: October 11, 2010, 03:00:46 pm by neirao »
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #41 on: October 11, 2010, 09:45:51 pm »

Would be nice if you could have adjustable bargeboards and soffits on the roof, at the moment I just pull out the faces for the soffits.

Will try out the windows script shortly
Logged
O

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #42 on: October 12, 2010, 07:08:00 am »

Just checked out the windows script ... nice... can the thickness for the mullions and Stiles be made adjustable, if the thickness of the main frame is increased then the stiles and mullions look way out of proportion. Some of the other parameters do not seem to work, so I assume these are in progress?

Just a word of advice: It might be helpful if you "annote" some of the paramaters in the script itself as to how they function to help those new users who need to know what they do...NickE is usually good at doing this 
Logged
O

freesailor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #43 on: October 13, 2010, 06:23:58 am »

Kreator:
thanks for the advice... it would seem that I released these scripts a little prematurely, but I needed some encouragement to continue with their development... getting a little burned out with ASL... it hasn't got enough instructions to write really elegant code... needs user defined functions, or subroutines at least (Steve?!?). sooooo... if you change the code in roofs.a8s parameters from:   #parameter("16\"o.c. or 24\"o.c.", int, 0, 0, 0);
to:                      #parameter("Rafter Centers", int, 24, 0, 24);
and add this code at the end just before $roof:Close();:
Code: [Select]
if (parameter("Rafter Centers") == 0 && parameter("Gables %") <100)
{
$roof.OpenFace(0,4);                 /*          soffits                                */
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint(($lx/2, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, $wz/2)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint((-$lx/2, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, $wz/2)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint((-$lx/2-$overhang, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, $wz/2+$overhang)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint(($lx/2+$overhang, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, $wz/2+$overhang)));
$roof.CloseFace();
$roof.OpenFace(0,4);                 
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint(($lx/2, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, $wz/2)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint(($lx/2+$overhang, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, $wz/2+$overhang)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint(($lx/2+$overhang, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, -$wz/2-$overhang)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint(($lx/2, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, -$wz/2)));
$roof.CloseFace();
$roof.OpenFace(0,4);                 
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint(($lx/2, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, -$wz/2)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint(($lx/2+$overhang, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, -$wz/2-$overhang)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint((-$lx/2-$overhang, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, -$wz/2-$overhang)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint((-$lx/2, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, -$wz/2)));
$roof.CloseFace();
$roof.OpenFace(0,4);                 
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint((-$lx/2, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, $wz/2)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint((-$lx/2, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, -$wz/2)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint((-$lx/2-$overhang, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, -$wz/2-$overhang)));
$roof.VertexN($roof.AddPoint((-$lx/2-$overhang, $tail_height-$fascia+0.06944, $wz/2+$overhang)));
$roof.CloseFace();
}
it will add soffits on roofs with hips if #parameter("Rafter Centers", int, 24, 0, 24); is zero.
I also added code to make adjustable barge rafters( I assume you mean the gable overhang here), but ran into a little problem with the code and am still considering ways to correct it.
One problem I have with soffits and such is that I live in Hawaii, and this type of construction is rare(only multi_million mansions have soffits...lol), so I have very little experience with their actual layout... I have built some houses with soffits, but they had str8 gable roofs with no overhang... not sure how to construct the junction of gable overhang and soffit... pictures would be of great help... I believe that UK construction practices a lot of this type of stuff...

windows.a8s: the only parameter that doesn't work is "Double Hung", I'm still pondering that one....
but the stiles and mulliens size can be changed... the point2 array $dim holds a variety of sizes for the window.. guess I shoulda commented that one a little better... anyway $dim[2].x & $dim[2].y hold the sizes of the stiles and mulliens... default is 5/4... all the sizes in $dim[] are commented, so you can change them if you want, although I'm trying to make all these scripts produce structurally correct drawings, so adjusting the sizes should be done with that in mind.... i.e. if your wall happens to be built of 2x6's it shouldn't be necessary to change the stile size to keep everything proportional(I think?!?) It would be nice if there were more parameters available, then i could include all dimensions there.
Anyway, your interest encourages me to continue with these scripts, thank you for the words of advice, and i will post any major changes to either script as I make them.

Oh, and for Neirao: It wasn' my intention to make a script that would create any roof possible, this would be difficult if not impossible... what I trying to provide is a tool with which one can use to create a variety of basic roofs quickly... attached is an example of one that took me about 20 minutes(how does one put images in the body of a post, anyway?????Grrr)

aloha
freesailor
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: ASL Scripts Database
« Reply #44 on: October 13, 2010, 07:19:31 am »

Yeah that looks good, for placing images into post use an external url to post the image then use the img bbc code

ie
Code: [Select]
[img] http://Your.externallink.com/Image.jpg [/img]
then you should have no problem,keep going with the scripts they add to anim8ors functionality and help other not so adept users in contstructing
models.

Im in the Uk btw so soffits and bargeboards are part and parcel of building construction.
Logged
O
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6