Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Problem subdividing faces  (Read 2848 times)

Walrus_King

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Problem subdividing faces
« on: January 16, 2009, 11:05:05 pm »

i made a small model of a city i'm going to use in a game and i'm trying to curve the edges to make the buildings look futuristic. i have it set to 0. Every time i try to do it, it treats each z and y division like an edge and i end up with a lot of blunt spikes.  pictures are attached.
Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 569
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: Problem subdividing faces
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 12:25:28 am »

hi Walrus_King, :)

stranger... you only subdivide?? i never has this error...

can you post for download the .an8 file ??






Logged

Walrus_King

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem subdividing faces
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 03:32:12 am »

here's how i made it, if it will help. I started with a big flat square. i selected the edges and stretched them out a bit. to make the buildings, i selected the areas on the ground and pulled them up. the dl is attached.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 03:45:56 am by Walrus_King »
Logged

Walrus_King

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem subdividing faces
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2009, 03:44:00 am »

i just figured out what's wrong. each one of the squares that i pulled up had its own sides and those were being subdivided. do u know how to get rid of all of the inside sides without having to delete all of them individually, cos i just tried that and it would take way too long, lol.
Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 569
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: Problem subdividing faces
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2009, 05:10:44 am »

hi Walrus_King, ;)
the problem is because you not make the right way..

in manual say:
 
This button adds cubes. You can divide them into as many subdivisions in each axis as you like by double clicking on a block to view its properties dialog..

after make the block, using this button or 
you can scale and grow  the blocks ( after you "convert in mesh") ..

 see in: http://www.anim8or.com/manual/4_object_editor.html#face_extrusion

read the manual i see then is very easy maker your city, after make one block, "convert in mesh" and duplicate, AFTER, convert to subdivided ok...


sorry my english

ok
[]s

« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 05:27:04 am by neirao »
Logged

Walrus_King

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem subdividing faces
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2009, 06:24:42 am »

i'm already redoing it all like that, and its working fine so far. its a bit more work, because i have to put in the coordinates and dimensions of every building, but this way i can set the heights instead of just guessing. thanks for your help, i've got it figured out now.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 06:27:22 am by Walrus_King »
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Problem subdividing faces
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2009, 07:00:47 am »

I believe your original problem was using the normal extrude tool instead of the group extrude tool.  The normal extrude tool keeps all the surrounding faces as in your first  picture where you experienced an error.  Basically it extrudes each face individually from all others.  The group extrude tool, on the other hand, extrudes all adjacent selected faces together.
Logged

Walrus_King

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem subdividing faces
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2009, 02:52:50 pm »

thanks, that's a big help
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 925
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Problem subdividing faces
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2009, 10:51:26 am »

Interesting effect you achieved accidentally though, kinda like a Tolkien-esque Gothic cathedral!  Well worth remembering in my opinion!
Logged