Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: orthographic view from a specific point of view  (Read 2688 times)

Laryllan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
orthographic view from a specific point of view
« on: January 26, 2008, 08:02:45 am »

Hey guys.

I have lots of objects that need to be rendered in an orthographic view. The problem is that the standard point of view of the orthographic view is not the position I need. I want to render the objects in an orthographic view but seen from a sepecific point of view. I know I could place a camera each time exactly at the position I want but then the images do not look orthographically. So I need a possibility to render orthographically but I also need to set the exact position of the "orthographic camera". Know what I mean?

Thanks a lot!

Laryllan
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: orthographic view from a specific point of view
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2008, 08:26:32 am »

Well you can do this from either scene mode, or directly from object mode.  If you do it from object mode, you cannot have a ground grid or shadows, but it's quicker.  To do this, in object mode, go "Render>Render Image..." then change the settings as you wish.
If you want shadows and all that fancy stuff, then feel free to set up a scene just as you would, but you don't need a camera necessarily.  Anim8or will render the scene from whatever view you're in.  So just go "view>ortho" and change the view as you wish.  In the ortho view, just go "Render>Render image..." as before, and it should render from that viewpoint.

Hope this helps!
Logged

ani master

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: orthographic view from a specific point of view
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2008, 08:35:52 am »

i didnt get a word u said
Logged

Laryllan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: orthographic view from a specific point of view
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2008, 08:42:57 am »

Thanks for the reply!!

I think I should reword my question... ;)

The point ist:
I know how to render orthographically.
I know how to change the point of view, even in ortho view, by hand. (use rotation or arc rotate and all that stuff)
But I do NOT know how to re-set this perspective. It's always impossible to set this each time by hand so that it's exactly like in the other pictures I rendered before.

When I use a camera I can change the settings and (and that's the important point!) the orientation and location by entering some numbers. So I can reconstruct the exact same view. But by using the camera I do not have the orthographic view.

So the question is: Is there a possibility to reconstruct the same view if I use the ortho view... using each time the arc rotate is not precisely enough.

I hope the question is now easier to understand :)

Laryllan
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: orthographic view from a specific point of view
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2008, 09:29:47 am »

Ah, I see what you mean now.  That's more difficult.  I know one way you could do it is to simply stay in the same scene and load all the objects in you want to render.  All you have to do is hide the objects you don't want to have rendered at the time.  You can do this by double clicking the object and unchecking the 'visible' checkbox.  You can get these objects back by clicking the "+" by the Name of the scene in the bottom left of your screen.  You can pull this menu up further  and then press the '+' by the "world" section and you'll get a list of objects, cameras, lights, etc. in the scene.  Instead of selecting an object you can select it or double click it in this list.  You can then unhide any object you want, and hide the other object, and you can just stay in the same ortho view without having to change views at all.

I hope that helps, other than that I don't know a way to store the ortho view, sorry.
Logged