Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: question about transparency..  (Read 3309 times)

zonny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
question about transparency..
« on: February 03, 2009, 10:21:34 am »

I've been playing around with the anim8tor for a while now, read some of the manual and gone trought a lot of great tutorials, but it still is unclear to me how to make things transparent. If I try to make material and set the transparency to 0, nothing seem to happen.

Could someone explain to me how it is done?  :-X
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 832
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: question about transparency..
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2009, 11:09:07 am »

transparency 0 = completely transparent.  you very rarely want to use that setting, as your object will become completely invisible.  if you want an object to be partly visible, but partly see-through too, then you need a value of greater than 0 but less than 1 - ie. 0.1 will be nearly all seethrough, 0.5 will be half-and-half, and 0.9 will be nearly opaque.

you might also want to double-check that you have applied the material to the object.
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 929
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: question about transparency..
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2009, 11:24:27 am »

Also, the effect may only be visible when you render.
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 832
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: question about transparency..
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2009, 09:16:03 pm »

good point, ensoniq... which reminds me of another tip for zonny: go to View > Preferences, and make sure both 'Transparency' checkboxes are checked.  if the first one is greyed out, then that means your graphics hardware isn't powerful enough to handle transparency in the working views.  but the second one should be enabled, which will allow transparency to show up when you render your image.

- c
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: question about transparency..
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2009, 01:06:43 am »

if you dont know what they r talking about. its in materials. make your material trans 0. then apply it to ur model.
Logged
h

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: question about transparency..
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2009, 02:52:26 am »

If it doesn't show up in the viewport when applied to an object, try going, "view>preferences" and make sure the "transparency" box is checked in the OpenGL section.  Also check anything else you want to show up in both renders and OpenGL
Logged

zonny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: question about transparency..
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2009, 05:29:01 pm »

Ah, I never rendered it, so dunno what it would look like there (probably how it should be). Thanks for all the replies, you've all been very helpfull.  ;)
Logged