Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: graphic display bug?????  (Read 3136 times)

jdonzae

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
graphic display bug?????
« on: February 04, 2009, 07:44:22 pm »

I know this issue has been addressed already but not in the context of my misfortune (i think i said that right). I'm running Vista on my lap-top and I'm always getting this rather frustrating blank/transparent workspace whenever i run an8. And the few times I get lucky, the work space is doubled (one in the top left, and one in the bottom right). the functions are on the bottom right and the things i try to do get shown in the top left workspace. I've tried playing with the settings, and that didn't work. Updating my graphics card didn't work. I've also tried it on a few other vista computers and got the same effect. Is there any other solution to this vista epidemic because all of the windows XP updates aren't available anymore on the microsoft website????
« Last Edit: February 04, 2009, 07:57:15 pm by jdonzae »
Logged

headwax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 600
    • View Profile
    • Headwax's Website
Re: graphic display bug?????
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2009, 01:32:32 am »

Logged

jdonzae

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: graphic display bug?????
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2009, 04:13:50 am »

okay i think i get it, but where am i supposed to get the file from???? the supported links send me to somewhere else. (remember i AM running on dial up and its torture waiting for a file that takes a year to download and its not what i want)
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
Re: graphic display bug?????
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 09:40:53 pm »

jdonzae, what graphics chip do you have? Use the About->SystemInfo menu command in Anim8or to see.  Have you tried running in XP Compatible mode?  (Have you read the Vista Problems page?)

atioglxx.dll is ATI's OpenGL driver.  If you don't have an ATI card it won't do anything for you.
Logged

jdonzae

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: graphic display bug?????
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2009, 06:00:12 pm »

I have the standard graphics card that came with this stupid Dell (Intel 965 Graphics Media Accelerator), but since it's XP compatible (which is the only reason I bought it), I'll just roll back to XP Sp3 for now.
Logged

VBSmiles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: graphic display bug?????
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2009, 10:41:57 pm »

Graphic cards and windows versions are minimal.

Windows newer versions don't use much more power than previous versions. There are however slight differences in interface design. More common though is windows functions are sometimes outdated or just incompatible with older versions of the same function call. Steven has already stated that he uses OpenGL funtions - Not DirectX. and I would assume he stays away from basic graphic windows functions as well, with exception to maybe interface design, which is usually done anyway when creating a basic window. ( which may or may not have it's own faults. )

Graphic cards rely on drivers that are frequently updated to insure that they work on whatever Operating system you are using, with whatever newer functions that are being used ( along with past functions ) whether it is DirectX or OpenGL. Many with more emphisis on DirectX basicly because it continually changes. ( I cannot give reference to OpenGL, as I've never studied it ) Steven works with one graphics card exclusively. NVidia. And he knows the functions he uses will work with those cards.

O.K. so I've basicly turned this thread into a learning edition. So what was my point?
Well,pretty simple. If you are having trouble, first blame the stupid Intel driver, not the Operating system. You are probably going to have trouble either way. I also use this stupid card and use windows Vista and have yet to find any newer drivers, or updates for Vista concerrning graphics. 
Logged