Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Script Request: Flatten line?  (Read 4610 times)

Suppastar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Script Request: Flatten line?
« on: February 13, 2009, 05:46:59 am »

Can anyone make a script that acts like "flatten" command, but works with just lines?

I have a hard time fixing all the lines that were made crooked or wrong, just wondering if anyone could make a script that could do this for me?
Logged

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: Script Request: Flatten line?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 06:34:52 am »

You could just merge points...
Logged

Suppastar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Script Request: Flatten line?
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 06:47:34 am »

Sorry, that's not what I'm talking about, I'm talking about this...


Selecting the Messed up/Crooked Lines, and using "Flatten Lines", flattens them into image #2.

The same effect as the original "Flatten" does , but that only works on faces, not lines.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 08:45:52 pm by Suppastar »
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Script Request: Flatten line?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2009, 07:34:36 am »

I agree, it would be a nice script, though there would have to be two, one vertical and one horizontal (could it be view dependent? or would it have to be axis dependent?)
Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 569
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: Script Request: Flatten line?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2009, 01:53:29 pm »

Hi Suppastar, :)

see this script in link:
http://www.anim8or.com/cgi-bin/postings.cgi?action=reply&forum=ASL+Scripts&number=6&topic=000032.cgi&TopicSubject=Snap+to+point+script&replyto=8

or direct download:
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/w.watson3/main/files/Snap2Pnt.zip

this script work like you want, in Axis Y...!

but if modifiqued the code, work full in axis Y and X... :)

[]s
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 01:55:38 pm by neirao »
Logged

Monex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
    • My homepage (not done)
Re: Script Request: Flatten line?
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2009, 02:05:18 pm »

I was just wondering, if you could use the two points at the end, to make a strait line to align the points and could do it in 3d :)
Logged

Suppastar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Script Request: Flatten line?
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2009, 05:59:17 pm »

Thanks everyone


@Neirao

Thanks for that script, but that was for snapping points together, not straightening out the lines.



Basically as I said, we just need a script that acts like the original Flatten command in anim8or, but works with lines and points also. I can't tell you after hours and hours of point modeling, some of the lines are at a slight angle.  Which on some models can ruin the look, if we had script that could make sure the lines are straight it would make modeling a lot easier.



This is script that I think everyone would use, maybe Steve could implement a version of it with command prompt like the original flatten command, or even work it into the original some how?
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 08:48:22 pm by Suppastar »
Logged

Claude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: Script Request: Flatten line?
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2009, 03:17:17 am »

Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 569
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: Script Request: Flatten line?
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2009, 12:55:14 pm »

@ Suppastar:
the script work... but for not "join" all the points, we have then unselect the axis then not want mover the points..in , please try again OK  ;)

@Claude: thanks!
Logged