Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Paths - Help Please  (Read 1965 times)

Richardm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Paths - Help Please
« on: February 13, 2009, 11:43:37 am »

I am struggling with getting a path into a scene. I have created a closed spline and transferred it into the scene (as an object) but cannot get the scene to recognise it as a path - cannot be highlighted or edited via the respective buttons. I can select it and manipulate it as any other object but cannot get it to turn into a path.
Have tried this numerous times in the 'production' and 'preview' versions.
Would someone please point out the obvious for me please

Thanks

Richard
Logged

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: Paths - Help Please
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 11:11:00 am »

A path in the object mode is something very different than a path in the scene mode. It may be quite confusing, I know...

A path (spline) in the object mode is used as a modeling tool - you can extrude it, lathe it or fill it, but the path itself is "useless" and it's not visible in rendered images.

A path in the scene mode is created whenever you animate the position of an object. The path represents the object's trajectory and it can be edited using the graph editor or the "path" tool.

I hope it helped...
Logged

Richardm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Paths - Help Please
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2009, 01:34:57 pm »

It did (help), must have misread or misunderstood something - grateful thanks. :)
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Paths - Help Please
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 06:18:27 pm »

RichardM: This facility that is in the BUILD part og the scene editor is not implemented , however I would suggest you take a look at NickE`s thread in the scripts section as there is a script to make a path for your object in scene mode
It would be nice to have this implemented in Anim8or 

http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=959.msg6992#msg6992

Think thats the link ....

Anyway I think really that its about time it was implemented in Anim8or
« Last Edit: February 14, 2009, 06:25:33 pm by kreator »
Logged
O