Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Question about Figure editor  (Read 2664 times)

saijeehiguchi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Question about Figure editor
« on: June 11, 2009, 05:12:02 pm »

I have been with anim8or for a while, and today I was working of a figure, and started to ask myself if there was any possible easier way to make sure the model is perfectly symmetrical, building a set of bones for one side, and then for another can get get finely inaccurate... Especially with more complex bone structures.
Logged

Ratticis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • NOW WITH 90% MORE AWESOME!
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Figure editor
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2009, 01:45:23 am »

Do one half than mirror it. This gives you tha basics of mirroring
http://www.geocities.com/elimar48/tutorials/mirror/tutorial.html
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Figure editor
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2009, 02:27:22 am »

Ratticis ---
I believe saijeehiguchi's concern was directed at boning, not modeling.  To the best of my knowledge, Anim8or does not yet allow you to mirror bone setups, which would be really beneficial.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2009, 02:28:58 am by RudySchneider »
Logged
G

Ratticis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • NOW WITH 90% MORE AWESOME!
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Figure editor
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2009, 03:21:59 am »

Sorry, my bad. And i agree that mirring bones would make like soooo much easier
Logged

saijeehiguchi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Figure editor
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2009, 03:29:47 pm »

I heard that Glanville had already made a mirror thing for the next version of anim8or... But I've not a clue when that's coming out...
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: Question about Figure editor
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2009, 06:17:25 pm »

I heard that Glanville had already made a mirror thing for the next version of anim8or... But I've not a clue when that's coming out...

Indeed. Steve is working on mirroring tools. Not completly sure if he's also working on mirroring in figure mode.

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Question about Figure editor
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2009, 01:24:26 am »

 saijeehiguchi.

 Do you realise that by double clicking on the bone itself, you can then manually enter the values of both length and radius of the bone.



 
Logged
%

neodelito

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • ModuloSoporte
Re: Question about Figure editor
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2009, 07:00:59 am »

yep... double clicking on ANY bone itself.... is alot of work... but works..
(for Steven.. you see the milkshape bone animation system.. is moooore easy, you can do that pliiiiiisss...)
Logged
I

Ratticis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • NOW WITH 90% MORE AWESOME!
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Figure editor
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2009, 09:21:39 am »

It's a pain in the but though, especially if you have the bones at any kind of an angle. I know it's been said before, but it would be nice to be able to select multiple bones at once and set their size, rotation, ect
Logged