Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: How to make a tire  (Read 8583 times)

metsrule2008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
How to make a tire
« on: June 27, 2009, 04:53:57 pm »

I don't know how to make a tire.  I looked through the tutorial on the website and i don't get it.  Is there a youtube video or something that can help me better?

Thanks!!!
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2009, 06:15:03 pm »

Quickest way to make a tyre is to get the Torus Plugin (see scripts) flatten it a bitthen apply a tread texture with bumpmap.
Logged
O

metsrule2008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2009, 12:50:06 am »

I tried getting the script in the program, but i got an error.  Don't know what i did wrong.  I copied the script in notepad and saved it as .txt.  When i load the script, it says 82 lines, 0 errors.  Does that mean its installed or what?  This is so frustrating!!!
« Last Edit: June 28, 2009, 01:12:58 am by metsrule2008 »
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2009, 06:40:24 am »

No change the script to Torus.a8s.

As its a parametric Plugin it will sit on anim8ors GUI as an icon.
 
Logged
O

metsrule2008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2009, 02:37:20 pm »

Ok another question.  If in the box at the bottom of the program, it says script file updated or something close to that.  Does that mean i did it correctly.  I don't know.  And if so, where would i find the icon. 
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2009, 09:28:48 pm »

I assume you mean the Console Window?...... take a look at the attachment below, It is on Anim8ors main GUI if it has loaded in correctly...Have you
designated a Directory that anim8or can load the scripts from ie: FILE/CONFIGURE .... is preload scripts ticked??

TIP: If you have more parametric scripts than fits the window (like mine!!) then right click the toolbar,  hold and drag the toolbar up 

Raxx`s thread at
http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=1705.msg12722
Has loads of scripts that may be useful to you
 ;D
« Last Edit: June 28, 2009, 09:32:48 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2009, 12:44:28 pm »

Here's a way to build a fully modelled tyre that does not need scripts or plugins and does not use bump maps for the tread:

1) Create a spline defining the profile of the tyre.  Note the X axis grey line near the top of the screen, which will be the centre of rotation.



2) Use the Lathe tool (Build menu) to rotate the spline around the X axis, generating a wireframe.




3) Select only the vertical vertex lines as below and use Edit>Connect Edges



4) Select the faces created and use the Inset tool



5) Use the Extrude tool to push out the tread blocks



6) Apply a suitably rubber-like material and you're done.



This is a very blocky sort of tyre, the kind of thing you might find on a dune buggy or whatever.  Using a bump map for the tread is probably better if you are building a road tyre with more complex tread patterns, unless you are feeling really game!
« Last Edit: June 30, 2009, 12:47:52 pm by ENSONIQ5 »
Logged

Ratticis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • NOW WITH 90% MORE AWESOME!
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2009, 06:26:13 am »

Is it better to create the wheel seperattly, then group them?
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2009, 02:14:47 pm »

Is it better to create the wheel seperattly, then group them?

I would certainly construct the wheel as a separate wireframe from the tyre, yes.  Whether the wheel and tyre are grouped together in a single Object or kept separate depends on how you intend to use the models.  For example, if you are building a single car model with all four wheels being identical, and you intend to animate the model, it would be best to save the wheel/tyre combination as an Object and bring them into Scene mode four times.  If you are building a single model for still frame render only you would probably group the wheel and tyre and just copy it around the model Object.

Keeping wireframes separate also allows you to easily change your mind about things (like rim design) without having to remodel the tyre.  My usual rule of thumb is to model things in a similar way to how they are constructed in real life.
Logged

Ratticis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • NOW WITH 90% MORE AWESOME!
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2009, 09:01:23 pm »

Kinda what i thought. Tried it the other way a few times with less than ideal results. Tanks
Logged

Arik_the_Red

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 760
  • Just another aninoob...
    • View Profile
    • śwakened!
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2009, 06:47:26 am »

Yo Ensoniq5, is that how they spell "tire" in Oz?  ;-) 
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2009, 11:38:52 am »

Yo Ensoniq5, is that how they spell "tire" in Oz?  ;-) 

Should should know very well by now Arik, that , that is how Queens English is spelt!
Logged
O

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2009, 02:26:16 pm »

Humph, I "tire" of these Yanks insisting that the mangled abomination they laughably refer to as "English" is in fact the correct form of this most noble of languages!

Just kidding Arik!  I have long since learned to ignore American built spell checkers as they put little red lines under words like "tyre", "aluminium" and "colour".  Damned cheeky IMO!
Logged

Pincho

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2009, 10:53:52 am »

I made this tyre by making a single section of it that I copied about 20 times, and the copies were like jigsaw pieces that joined together without a seam. I then Joined solids, and welded the points together. Now I had a long line of tyre that wasn't a circle, but just a line. I then used the modifier tool scaled exactly to the length of the line of tyre pieces, and set to Bend. I then bent the tyre line 360deg, and hey presto a circle! then weld those points together at the ends.  8)


« Last Edit: July 03, 2009, 02:59:49 pm by Pincho »
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: How to make a tire
« Reply #14 on: July 03, 2009, 11:53:06 am »

Nicely done Pincho, I have heard of the bend modifier method of tyre construction but never actually done it myself.  As always it seems there's more than one way to skin a cat!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2