Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial  (Read 3891 times)

Paulo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Love 3D !
    • View Profile
    • Paulo's web site : 3D art with Anim8or
Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial
« on: July 14, 2009, 05:48:42 pm »

Hey everybody !

I made a tutorial to export the scenes from Anim8or to Kerkythea, a free open source photo realistic renderer.
Hum, just a little detail... this tuto is in french... maybe some people here speak french and will enjoy this tuto ^^ Or maybe someone could translate it in english =)

http://pagesperso-orange.fr/paulo54/An8_to_KT.pdf
Logged
Paulo, French 3D Maker




My VRML exporter for anim8or : http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=3168.0

benzjie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2009, 04:31:27 am »

you forgot to mention 1 important thing....scene size. If e.g. you want to render a wineglass , make sure the glass is about real life size in KT ( the KT grid is 1m x 1m )
This will be hard for city- / landscapescenes ( obviously)

Edit : Forgot to mention ...Nice tut :)
« Last Edit: July 15, 2009, 04:42:08 am by benzjie »
Logged

Paulo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Love 3D !
    • View Profile
    • Paulo's web site : 3D art with Anim8or
Re: Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2009, 09:14:29 am »

Thank you very much for your comment benzjie ! Do you read some French ? :p

In fact I never had problem with scene size. But I just realize that we can't resize object in KT indeed ! But we are able to zoom with the camera. So what is the impact of a bad scene size ? What would be your advice to size the scene correctly in Anim8or ?

(In addition I will complete my tuto stating that background, Ground grid and fog are not exported)

Thanks again ;)
Logged
Paulo, French 3D Maker




My VRML exporter for anim8or : http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=3168.0

benzjie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2009, 09:17:33 am »

yes...you can rescale objects :)   hover your cursor over the move gizmo, press G and the gizmo will change to a square. Now you can rescale ( holding shift will rescale in proportion) your ( selected) object (s)
Logged

Paulo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Love 3D !
    • View Profile
    • Paulo's web site : 3D art with Anim8or
Re: Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2009, 09:53:47 am »

ah perfect ! I'm going to add how to rescale the scene in Kerkythea :) and maybe some advice to make the first render :) Thanks !

(little English question : what's the difference between rescale and resize ?)
Logged
Paulo, French 3D Maker




My VRML exporter for anim8or : http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=3168.0

benzjie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2009, 10:15:31 am »



(little English question : what's the difference between rescale and resize ?)

In this case ? nothing.
Logged

Paulo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Love 3D !
    • View Profile
    • Paulo's web site : 3D art with Anim8or
Re: Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2009, 01:13:20 pm »

Thanks for your help benzjie.

I upgraded the tuto : corrections, and above all extension to basic KT operations in order to make a first photo realist render =)

Same link : http://pagesperso-orange.fr/paulo54/An8_to_KT.pdf
Logged
Paulo, French 3D Maker




My VRML exporter for anim8or : http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=3168.0

benzjie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or to Kerkythea tutorial
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2009, 09:22:44 am »

and now for a translation :) 
oh..and object size is important because KT is a global illumination engine. Materials appear differently with different size. EG, glas 1 mm thick or 1 meter thick.
Logged