Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Modefers and primitives.  (Read 5584 times)

csf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • CSF On The Web
Modefers and primitives.
« on: February 15, 2008, 06:45:28 am »

I am not sure if this would be something that could be done with anim8ors but I will through it out there.

1 A way to automatically apply a modifier to a mesh (the current way is not the most priciest)

2. Being able to apply more then one modifier to a mesh.

3. (witch I would even put before 2 is being able to manipulate a primitive with modifier. I know a program that allowed that and I know it helped make the modifiers a lot more powerfully and user friendly.

While you have done a very good job of making anim8or user friendly to the advanced 3D user, the modifiers are one place were some improvements can definitely be made  ;)
Logged
AKA coaster sim. fan on the old boards

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2008, 07:08:58 am »

I think you adressed your post to Steve, but I'll try to answer your requests:

Quote from: csf
1 A way to automatically apply a modifier to a mesh (the current way is not the most priciest)
I don't think this will  ever be possible. Imagine the situation: you bind a modifier, set it's value and... the modifier automatically applies and doesn't allow you to change the value...

Quote from: csf
2. Being able to apply more then one modifier to a mesh.
Do you mean applying more modifiers in the same time? Now you can apply as many modifiers as you want but not at the same moment (why do you need applying more modifies at the same moment?)

Quote from: csf
3. (witch I would even put before 2 is being able to manipulate a primitive with modifier. I know a program that allowed that and I know it helped make the modifiers a lot more powerfully and user friendly.
I don't entirely understand... You can select the primitive, click "Build>Convert to mesh" and then you can manupulate it with modifiers...


I hope this helped...
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2008, 10:56:46 am »

I belief he means in point 3 something like a FDD-box like they have in 3d max. I suggested something like that a long time ago for v0.96. This is a box which your place over your mesh and by moving the points of the modifier, you move points of your mesh. (http://www.render.ru/books/show_book.php?book_id=47)

csf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • CSF On The Web
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2008, 08:19:32 pm »

I belief he means in point 3 something like a FDD-box like they have in 3d max. I suggested something like that a long time ago for v0.96. This is a box which your place over your mesh and by moving the points of the modifier, you move points of your mesh. (http://www.render.ru/books/show_book.php?book_id=47)

I have never seen that before in any program i have used, but is does look really cool. (I have no idea what language is in to read about it through)

Maybe I can explain better
I think you adressed your post to Steve, but I'll try to answer your requests:

Quote from: csf
1 A way to automatically apply a modifier to a mesh (the current way is not the most priciest)
I don't think this will  ever be possible. Imagine the situation: you bind a modifier, set it's value and... the modifier automatically applies and doesn't allow you to change the value...

No not that you can change the value but you know how you have to drag out the modifier and line it up with your mesh. Well some times that is not the most prices, well have an option were the modifier is automatically fitted for you mesh for you.

Quote from: csf
2. Being able to apply more then one modifier to a mesh.
Do you mean applying more modifiers in the same time? Now you can apply as many modifiers as you want but not at the same moment (why do you need applying more modifies at the same moment?)

It's definitely not the most needed but is cool lets say you want to twist a mesh and then bend it 180 degrees and then yo want to add more twist to it. You would have to undo the bend then add more twist then re bend. Instead you can work with both values at the same time.

Quote from: csf
3. (witch I would even put before 2 is being able to manipulate a primitive with modifier. I know a program that allowed that and I know it helped make the modifiers a lot more powerfully and user friendly.
I don't entirely understand... You can select the primitive, click "Build>Convert to mesh" and then you can manupulate it with modifiers...

the problem is that once you convert from a primitive to a mesh you can't convert back again to a mesh so lets say you make a bend and then you realize you want it smother, well instead of having to re do it all you can just add more segments to it.

I hope this helped...

I put responses in bold

I hope i was able to clear these ideas up.
Logged
AKA coaster sim. fan on the old boards

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2008, 08:32:22 pm »

Oh, now I understand... I must say some of your ideas would really make the work much easier...
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2008, 11:24:06 am »

(I have no idea what language is in to read about it through)

Me neiter, russian or something, but it was the best example i could find.

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2008, 12:50:19 am »

I like the idea of being able to apply multiple modifiers, but I feel it'd be easier if you could just apply more than one attribute too a modifier.  So, you could add a 'taper' and 'twist' and 'bend' all in the same modifier instead of having to do 'twist' then 'taper' then 'bend'.  It seems like it could be decently easy since it'd all effect the same modifier box.
Logged

CobraSpectre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2008, 06:33:42 am »

The problem with having multiple modifiers attached or simultaneous modifiers is order of operations. Which should go first? How is one going to affect another?

Really what you would need a full procedural undo. Some programs, image editing for example, you can go back to any step you did previously, change just that, and it will reapply everything you did after it. Anim8or would need a major rewrite to handle this type of thing.

Automatically applying a modifier to a mesh would be tricky. How should the computer decide what the 'correct' position is? You might be able to make a script to center the box around a point or selection of points.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2008, 08:21:39 am »

for automatically putting a modifier on an object, it could simply use either the bounding box, or a box that perfectly boxes in the object.  It doesn't have to get fancy.  If people want the modifier to be different they could change it.

As for multiple modifiers.  What I'm saying is that it wouldn't matter which went first.  Basically, the modifier would work as it does now, but instead of choosing from 1 of the multiple options for what it does, you could choose multiple ones.  Since anim8or uses a sort of bounding box for the modifier and when you change the modifier you can see the change you made on the bounding box, this same thing would happen with the multiple ones.  Really I think the only thing anim8or would need to know is to do the 'bend' modifier last.
Logged

csf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • CSF On The Web
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2008, 05:40:25 am »

Hey Steve I don't want to sound pushy but I am curious to see what you think of this idea, if you don't mind sharing.
Logged
AKA coaster sim. fan on the old boards

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1523
    • View Profile
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2008, 02:20:42 am »

csf: Modifiers certainly need to be cleaned up, I agree.  But I don't think adding a modifier stack like 3D Studio uses is a good idea for Anim8or.  It can be quite confusing to new users and adds a lot of complexity.

There are a lot of good things mentioned in these "wish list" posts but 1) most are either already on my "to do" list (or another method to achieve the same thing), 2) most have been mentioned before, and 3) this forum isn't really supposed to be a dumping ground for everything that anybody coupld possibly want Anim8or to do.  It's supposed to be for discussing problems and issues related to the v0.96 preview.  While that does include changes in how things work and related enhancements, it does not include "any thing anyone ever wanted added to Anim8or".  None the less, I don't want to prevent people from posting new ideas here but neither do I want to endorse it.  So I normally don't reply but I do read them all.
Logged

csf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • CSF On The Web
Re: Modefers and primitives.
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2008, 05:51:36 am »

Hey Steve thanks for replying, I am glad to know whats going on, keep up the great work!
Logged
AKA coaster sim. fan on the old boards