Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Can't do anything?  (Read 2523 times)

UnitedExpress4180

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Can't do anything?
« on: November 04, 2009, 11:40:09 pm »

I'm new to this program. I just tried to make a basic shape, but when I create a cube to form, I add segments, I build the mesh, but I can't do anything with it. I go to the point-edit mode, and I can't select or modify the shape. I can't do ANYTHING. HELP!
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: Can't do anything?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2009, 01:09:13 am »

some of this is kinda hard to comprehend when you are new. and every1 will tell you to do tutorials and to read the manual. or you can even use the search button on the forums. it will defenetly be faster than waiting for some1 to reply.

but i think for your problem is you didnt convert it to mesh.

so in your object mode select your model then go Build> convert to mesh.
then go to your point edit mode and all those little squares or points will be there.
Logged
h

UnitedExpress4180

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can't do anything?
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2009, 03:26:18 am »

I already tried that. I hit the "convert to mesh" button, but nothing happens. Then I can't even select the shape I want to edit, and I end up repeating the process all over again...
Logged

heartpeep

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • deviantart
Re: Can't do anything?
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2009, 01:02:00 pm »

hey Im gonna add your hotmail to my msn messenger incase you have it.  maybe you can show your screen on cam so I can see what youre doing
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Can't do anything?
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2009, 05:02:02 pm »

Ok try this ... first check what shader mode you are using.

If you are in Flat shaded, (CTRL F)then check in FILE/Configure GUI Solid Views  if Flat outline and Flat Points are unchecked then make sure they are checked as unchecked in this mode you will NOT see any points.

If You are using Smooth Shaded (CTRL S) then they can remain unchecked and should work

Can you manipulate the points in Wireframe mode (CTRL W)??

 
Logged
O

odp04y

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: Can't do anything?
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2009, 05:34:43 pm »

What OS are you using? It could be a software error.
Logged

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: Can't do anything?
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2009, 09:48:25 am »

I bet this is not a software error. Let's take it step by step:

  • Go to object editor and make sure you are in the object edit mode (the arrow in the top-left corner of the screen must be selected)
  • Create your shape (a sphere, cylinder, cube, whatever you like...)
  • The shape should be selected (if not, select it) and then click "Build>Convert To Mesh"
  • Now go to the point-edit mode:
  • Switch to the wire-frame view: (4th button from the left in the top toolbar or CTRL+W, like Kreator said)
  • When in the wire-frame view, the points should always be visible and you should be able to edit them
  • Next time, before you ask a basic question like this, please read the manual and the FAQs section of the Forum Guidelines.
Logged