Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Anim8or and Windows 7  (Read 25202 times)

Yodaman Jer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Anim8or and Windows 7
« on: November 20, 2009, 08:31:37 pm »

Hello everyone,

I downloaded the v0.97d preview of Anim8or and could not get it to launch. I tried running it as the administrator, then in XP compatibility mode, all to no avail.

I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (perhaps that's the issue right there?) with 4GBs of RAM, a 2.1GHz dual-core processor, and an Intel Graphics Media Accelerator chip with up to 1695MB VRAM. Is anyone experiencing similar issues with Anim8or and Windows 7?

BTW, unrelated, but these forums have changed a lot since I was last here (sometime in '07). I like it Steve, it really works well. :)

Thanks to all who respond!
Logged

Paulo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Love 3D !
    • View Profile
    • Paulo's web site : 3D art with Anim8or
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2009, 08:03:08 pm »

Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bits + Anim8or v0.97d = no problem for me !
Logged
Paulo, French 3D Maker




My VRML exporter for anim8or : http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=3168.0

odp04y

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2009, 11:59:48 am »

Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bits + Anim8or v0.97d = no problem for me !

That's good I'm thinking of getting Win7 but I wouldn't get it if Anim8or didn't work on it.
Logged

Yodaman Jer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2009, 03:41:18 am »

Ah, then it's definitely the fact that I have the 64-bit version of 7. Bummer.  :'(


I guess I'll just wait and see if Steve can add support for it or not. ::exercises patience::
Logged

toiguew09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • rbrides
Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2009, 09:17:02 pm »

Update.   I installed Windows 7 clean install and everything is working fine now.  Thanks everyone for the help.
Logged

Kyle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2009, 04:14:18 pm »

Rather than make a new topic I might as well use this one. I just got a laptop with windows 7 and cant run anim8or either. is a clean install the only way to get it running? I'd really rather not have to do that...
Logged

LordDeRock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2009, 09:15:35 pm »

I had this problem and I think I know how to fix it, what type of graphic card do you have?
Logged

benzjie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2010, 10:47:10 am »

running w7 64, clean install and anim8or works just fine
Logged

Kyle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2010, 09:46:08 am »

You on an intel chip by any chance? that seems to be my problem, not the OS.
Logged

benzjie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2010, 03:58:07 pm »

nope..amd 955II BE ,  asrock mobo , 8800GT GC
Logged

bigsprings0069

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2010, 03:56:03 pm »

I have Win 7 with a 64 bit, and everything worked fine, for a while. Now nothing will work. File will not open in any compatability or as administrator. Not sure what is going on. I have checked all drivers, and have not noticed any updates that would affect the use of Anim8or. I am not very profficient with computers so, I have missed something.
Logged

SirBluDanes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2010, 03:04:19 am »

I'm having the exact same problem.
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1449
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2010, 07:08:08 am »

For those of you with nvidia cards, you can try going here: http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/drivers

This site supplies the latest drivers possible that you won't find on the nvidia.com website. It requires a little bit of advanced windows usage. I go to this site all the time to get the latest and greatest ;)

Quick guide on how to find your dev and subsys IDs and install the drivers:

  • Click the start menu open
  • In the search/run field, type "devmgmt.msc" and press enter
  • In the Device Manager, expand the "Display adapters" item, right click your graphics card and go to properties
  • In the properties window that comes up, go to the Details tab and click on Hardware IDs in the drop down menu
  • Use the first line to find your dev and subsys IDs, plug them into the appropriate fields on the website
  • Tick your operating system and press Filter
  • When the results come up, click on the latest one you want to install, and then download both the driver and the modified INF file
  • When downloaded, extract the driver into a folder on your desktop, and then drag and drop the nv_disp.inf file into that folder. It should replace an INF that already exists
  • Run Setup.exe from that folder and follow through with the installation. Restart and hope it works (either way you've updated your drivers to the best you can get, which is a good thing)

Obvious note: If you don't have an nvidia graphics accelerator, doing this won't help you at all
Logged

bigsprings0069

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2010, 07:17:34 pm »

Anybody have any ideas for Intel users? If the labeling on my laptop didn't say Toshiba then I would swear Intel built this thing considering that is all this comp uses!
Logged

TheLostJedi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2010, 04:51:00 am »

I recently bought an HP G60-535 Notebook with duel core Intel processors. All of my programs work on here including DAZ 3D, Celestia, Orbiter (Space Flight Simulator), and Terragen 2. For my main 3D program though I've always enjoyed Anim8or. It doesn't work and at first did nothing when i tried to open it, but after downloading the latest driver for series 4 processors it now opens but only shows a white screen in the main window. All buttons show and it will even show the materials if I select the materials button up top. Just for a test I opened one of my files and though I couldn't see it in the object window I managed to switch to perspective view still not seeing it pressed render and rendered it. Still couldn't see it, but saved the picture as a bitmap and viewed the finished picture with my picture viewer. It came out perfect. My operating system is Windows 7, and I believe this is due to Intels chips since everything else works fine. Its probably in the Open GL from what I've benn reading from others. I'm going to try to include my computer info on here and a description of my graphics settings so that Steve or someone else might be able to work out the problem.

Windows 7 Home Premium
System Info :
Manufacturer:              Hewlett-Packard
Model:                        HP G60 Notebook PC
Processor:                   Pentium(R) Duel-Core CPU     T4300 @ 2.10GHz 2.10 GHz
Installed Memory(RAM): 3.00 GB
System Type:              64-Bit Operating System

3D Graphics Settings
Custom Settings
                         Texture Quality:            Balance
                         Anisotropic Filtering:      Application Settings
                         Vertex Processing:         Default Settings
                         Vertical Sync:              Application Settings

Hope this helps
RT
Logged
The Lost Jedi
Pages: [1] 2