Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Making a person...  (Read 4922 times)

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Making a person...
« on: December 20, 2009, 05:10:50 am »

I want to know how to make a full body human. I want to be able to animate it and I'm wondering if i make a single model of the entire body, will i be able to give it bones and make it flex or do i have to make separate models?
Logged
X

mak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2009, 05:51:47 am »

no you can make it one whole peace. theres a good tut around here useing a cylnder ill see if i can find it.
Logged
realisim is for reality

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2009, 05:55:35 am »

what is a tut?
Logged
X

odp04y

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2009, 12:13:52 pm »

A tut is a tutorial.

There's some good one's on edgelooping in the forums, just search for it.
Logged

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2009, 09:41:01 pm »

i already know how to edge loop. I'm going to try to import models from some other program called Makehuman. I saw a youtube video on it.
Logged
X

Alpha2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2009, 11:52:50 pm »

You might run into issues importing models from other sources. Creating a character in AN8 is probably your best bet. If you're starting out I'd suggest building your person in parts then you can combine them into a single mesh later with Build>Join solids.
Logged

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2009, 12:33:14 am »

yes, I know. First I make one half then mirror then join solids then merge points.
Logged
X

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 812
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2009, 05:39:32 am »

 Try this classic. Should keep you busy for a while.  ;D
Joan of Ark Tutorial.
http://www.3dtotal.com/ffa/tutorials/max/joanofarc/joanmenu.php
Logged
%

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2009, 06:05:08 am »

Well, its not that good but I decided to animate this guy.
Logged
X

mak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2009, 06:12:10 am »

i kinda like that, looks like the beginings of a nutkcracker. have you any thing in mind for it. as in like a skit or somthin?
Logged
realisim is for reality

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2009, 06:09:08 pm »

okay, i made a short animation of him walking but for some reason I can render the video. First I had shadows but it took to long and while I waited it had an error. Than I took away shadows and light and in a few seconds of rendering it has an error.
Logged
X

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2009, 07:39:29 pm »

Just a suggestion, but you're FAR better off rendering out frames as individual JPEG images, then compositing them into a video using something like VirtualDub (free), for the following reasons:

1.  If your computer crashes, you haven't lost anything, and you don't have to start from the beginning.  Just start rendering again from the last rendered image.
2.  You can re-render individual frames if you make adjustments.
3.  If you have a long animation, with different scenes, and you only make changes to one scene, why re-render the whole thing when you can just re-render the one scene, or a portion of it?
Logged
G

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2009, 12:03:20 am »

idk, it never did this before.
Logged
X

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2009, 12:43:15 am »

and my computer doesn't crash, Anim8or shuts down.
Logged
X

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Making a person...
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2009, 04:28:18 am »

Okay, I got it working! Here is the animation of this wooden person.
Logged
X