Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: How can I make a chest for my knight?  (Read 2720 times)

NeonFalcon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • ill stay in touch:)made on pivot
    • View Profile
How can I make a chest for my knight?
« on: January 29, 2010, 02:59:25 pm »

   I have been working on a character wich is a knight. im done with everything exept the chest.  Any easy simple tuts? :-\
Logged

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: How can I make a chest for my knight?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2010, 10:46:32 pm »

What I normally do for chests of figures is block modeling. Start of with a block and give Shape it alittle. Give the block the size you want it to be. Then give it a divisions. Turn it into a mesh and shape it to look like the chest you want.
Logged
X

NeonFalcon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • ill stay in touch:)made on pivot
    • View Profile
Re: How can I make a chest for my knight?
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2010, 10:02:38 am »

Thanks for the instructions.  I know the block mod technique.  But not sure which is the best shape to block model with, a polygon, a ngon, or just a square?  Thanks in advance.
Logged

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: How can I make a chest for my knight?
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2010, 02:57:36 am »

I always use the square. Then give it some divisions so you will be able to shape it by points. Do what you want. Use your imagination :D
Logged
X

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: How can I make a chest for my knight?
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2010, 08:31:02 pm »

u can use any modeling technique. its really just a preference. if i were you i would make the armor every which way u can think of. you'll end up with like 10 suits of armor but atleast ull get some practice out of it.

my favorite is point to point modeling. you basically get a basic shape and extrude your edges.
Logged
h

MeepII

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: How can I make a chest for my knight?
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2010, 12:14:27 pm »

Or you could do what i used to do. Just get a basic shape, give it loads of divisions and just move the points. It doesn't work, but it looks funny when you've finished.
Logged

karate5662

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • my mini city
Re: How can I make a chest for my knight?
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2010, 05:09:18 pm »

I've started modeling by starting with a single point and using the line tool then filling faces in the desired areas.
Logged

TheRetroZombie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • I do crap animations.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: How can I make a chest for my knight?
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2010, 10:07:10 pm »

you mean edge looping?
Logged
X

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: How can I make a chest for my knight?
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2010, 12:49:24 am »

Edge looping is not a modeling technique, edge loops are the actual loops (of edges) on your model.  When people talk about edge looping they're talking about the flow of the faces in a subdivision object.
This is a great resource to learn about edge looping.
Logged