Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: convert to sub then back to mesh  (Read 2243 times)

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
convert to sub then back to mesh
« on: February 25, 2010, 07:47:33 pm »

the way i model is when its a mesh at 180. the final is almost always converted to mesh. i always convert to mesh to see what it looks like then tweak it a bit the convert it back to mesh. (i double click the object make the subdivisions 0-0 (which puts it to default 0-1 or 1-2 i think) then i convert to mesh, double click on the object and set it to 180)

hopefully i explained my process. it eats up a bit of time as well.

my question is: can you make a script to use hot keys or buttons to do just that? i would just model when its sundivided but it gets really hard to see and some points r hidden under the mesh.
Logged
h

BOB_I_Ts

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • Anim8rOrg
Re: convert to sub then back to mesh
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2010, 05:48:31 am »

Kubajzz has a script in the script database topic here unsub.zip does that help ?
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: convert to sub then back to mesh
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2010, 07:33:48 am »

Sadly no, there are no hotkeys that can change levels of subdivision or hotkeys to converto mesh/subdivision objects (or turn up the smooth level.)  You'll just have to continue the way you're doing it! Sorry, but scripts just don't allow for it currently from what I know.
Logged