Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: lock models  (Read 3472 times)

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
lock models
« on: March 30, 2010, 04:07:32 am »

im not sure if it can b done or not. but my idea is to lock an object as a solid view. this way you can make another object (most likely clothing) over your mesh without having to dodge all your points on the object your trying to put clothes on.

another idea i had before was to hide edgepoints. since im pretty sloppy with my models doing one side the model can get a bit iritating because i have to dodge all the point that are behind it. clicking the front and back options dont exactly work that great. sometimes it ignores what its supposed to do and u select a bunch of things on the back side when u aim at the front.

its just an idea. i know it would help me and im sure it would help others.
Logged
h

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: lock models
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2010, 06:50:19 am »

Rellik, a quick idea (that I know has been used) to help you with your first idea:
Try giving one object a transparent material, and working in the faceted solid mode.  You'll then be working with the actual mesh with faces, you just wont be able to see them (or make them semi-transparent) and you can somewhat see them.  Should be exactly what you're looking for!
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: lock models
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2010, 07:51:41 am »

i hope so. i tend to have way to many polies in the 1st place. my main concern is to no mess with my original mesh. if it transparent and i can still select the points i dont know if that method would work. it might even make it worse because i wont be able to see what im selecting.

ill give it a try though. and see what i come up with. thanks for the heads up.
Logged
h

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: lock models
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2010, 04:01:09 pm »

You can put the inner shape into a group, that's what I always do. Its points will still be selectable, but certain operations (moving points etc.) will be disabled so you can't accidentally change the original shape. Just select the shape and press "g" to create a new group with one child shape.

Other than that, the only possible way to completely "lock" a mesh is to convert it to a parametric shape. That's not possible in Anim8or, but there is a way around in ASL. BOB_I_Ts recently wrote a script that exports any shape as a parametric mesh plugin. You could export your shape, re-start Anim8or and use the newly created plugin to build a read-only copy of your shape...
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: lock models
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2010, 07:57:46 am »

You can put the inner shape into a group, that's what I always do. Its points will still be selectable, but certain operations (moving points etc.) will be disabled so you can't accidentally change the original shape. Just select the shape and press "g" to create a new group with one child shape.

I was going to say that. :P That's what I always do. But if you're using the arrow keys to move points, it still moves them. It also still deletes the selected points. But it's very useful. =]
3DGeek
Logged

BOB_I_Ts

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • Anim8rOrg
Re: lock models
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2010, 11:13:56 am »

the trinity script can create instant of object locked
just rename object you want locked rename it cage and export
make sure to to keep safe copy of model because converting trinity to subdivided for unknown reason will crash anim8or :/
restart anim8or and look for the 3 circle icon in tool pallet
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: lock models
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2010, 01:54:17 am »

i found a way to do it on accident. you can bind a modifer and dont hit the effect modifier to it and u can touch it when u do that and it stays a solid shape. thanks for ur ideas
Logged
h

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: lock models
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2010, 06:13:41 am »

Hey, nice. I'll have to try that. :)
Logged