Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Bi-polar anim8or?  (Read 4116 times)

baxter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Bi-polar anim8or?
« on: April 12, 2010, 12:24:47 am »

So I've been using anim8or for about 5 or 6 years now, and I've used it on XP, Vista, and currently windows 7.

And just a second ago I tried to open anim8or, and it brings up the sudden "Anim8or.exe has crashed" so I think it's just a compatibility issue, but its already in compatibility for XP SP3, so I turn it down to SP2, still no luck, I turn it down to Windows 2000, still no luck, try admin mode, nope.

But the puzzling this is, I don't know what could've triggered this. I've gotten recent hardware upgrades recently but they haven't affected anim8or until now, new graphics card ran it fine, new processor ran it fine, the newest thing I put in was about a month ago was a new motherboard and I highly doubt it's that because I'm pretty sure I've ran anim8or with it installed before. And my version of Windows 7 is Ultimate 32 bit so its not the 64 bit OS issue.

IF you need my specs here they are

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3.0 not overclocked

ATI Radeon HD 4650

2 Gigs of DDR2 RAM

ECS Black Series GF8200A motherboard

The only time I've ever had this kind of problem was when I first got vista and that was solved with the Compatibility fix, any help on this is deeply appreciated.
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 05:19:43 am »

try restarting your computer.
Logged
h

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2010, 07:32:44 am »

I'm sure you've tried this (though you haven't actually said it) but have you tried downloading Anim8or again?  Maybe the .exe is corrupt.
Logged

baxter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2010, 01:11:10 pm »

Yeah I tried redownloading it, I downloaded both the preview and the previous version and no luck, and as to restarting my computer, I had it off all night and just tried running anim8or again and it didn't work. But thanks for the feedback guys.

Though I did get an idea of what may have happened, possibly when I got the new motherboard, the new chipset is whats interfering, I've seen people tell others that it might be because of a newer onboard chipset, I hope thats not it but it's a possibility.
Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2010, 02:57:54 pm »

There are other posts complaining about Windows 7 and the inability to run Anim8or. I have one solution that would be a pain, but would work if it is windows 7 that is causing the problem. Partition your drive, or set another drive that is hooked up to your computer, on a separate partition of your main one. I don't know exactly how to do this, but there are loads of tutorials on the internet. After partitioning your drive(s) install another version of Windows (like XP) on the separate partition. Again, the internet has tutorials on doing this. Be careful, you will end up on the "dark side" of the computer doing this...
MAKE SURE YOU DON'T MESS WITH ANY FILES OR DIRECTORIES YOU ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO; YOU CAN SERIOUSLY RUIN YOUR COMPUTER!!!!!!After all of this, you will basically have two computers in one. This is a hassel, and every time you start up you will have to decide what partition you will want on (though it may not prompt you to choose, you have to make it do so). Now, if the problem is the chipset or whatnot, this may not help, and you will have wasted hours doing this. Also, many tutorials on the internet use MS-DOS to partition, but DOS was discontinued in 2006... so you will need to find out if you can still use that DOS with Windows 7 (especially if your running 64-bit) or if you will have to get another program. Hope this helps.
Logged

baxter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2010, 04:18:23 pm »

I was actually thinking about installing xp on a second harddrive that I could use for older programs and games, but the only other one I have is in a 1998 computer I bought(for parts) lying in my room, but I'm not sure it will be compatible, but maybe Ill give it a go. Thanks for that piece of advice.

Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2010, 05:20:54 pm »

Hard-drives are disks. They are just more permanent than cds. It should be compatible, unless it has a different jack than it is allowed. Happy to help.
Logged

wacky blend

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Witchy Woman
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2010, 12:21:45 pm »

I have been running Anim8or on my new laptop Kubuntu OS (KDE) with Wine.  No crashes, if you go with a dual boot system as described above, then you might as well use a free OS.  You can try Kubuntu and if you don't like it you haven't spent a lot of money.

But as you said, you had it running in Win 7, so there is no reason it shouldn't work again.  As my instructor says, "Something on the computer has changed, it is up to you to find out what has changed.  The sooner the better.".  I usually start debugging by doing a search on all files changed in the last 24 hours.  Then if I am working on Windows I start looking for malware or registry errors.

Wendy
Logged

MP3D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2010, 01:41:07 pm »

um ....before you go to extremes and partition your hard drive try turning off the DEP feature for just Anim8or. DEP is a feature Vista and Windows 7 has and is used for memory handling, and  DEP will shut down your old programs. I know this from having all most all my old programs shut down/crash on start up. And researching this on the NET.

This is how you do it.
1: Right click on (my computer )
2: click on (Properties )
3: click on (Advanced setting )its on the top left of your screen.
4:make sure the (Advanced ) tap is selected.
5: you will see a button in the (Performance) window called ( Settings )click on that button.
6: you will now see a tab ( Data Execution Prevention) this is the DEP settings. click on that tab.
7:you will see 2 radial buttons click on the second one that says (Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select.)
8: you will see a button thats says ( Add....) click on that and now browse for the anim8or .exe and select it. and then click apply.
9: run anim8or and see if that will help.

this will not mess up your programs the only thing you are doing is telling the DEP feature not to monitor the memory being used by Anim8or or and program you choose. you can undo this process by unchecking the box next to the program you added and clicking apply and its back to what it was before you did the change.


MP3D


« Last Edit: April 16, 2010, 01:42:39 pm by MP3D »
Logged

baxter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2010, 03:39:13 pm »

Thanks for the idea MP3D, but sadly that didn't work either, though it did help me get an older game I havent been able to get to work to work.

Though I did manage to get anim8or to work on a computer I got for 1$ thats running Windows 98(which I forgot is amazingly responsive), and I plan on upgrading that with a gig of RAM and a newer processor.

I appreciate the help all.
Logged

baxter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2010, 05:21:57 am »

Ok I found a solution, it takes from the idea of creating a partition for another OS, only not as time consuming. I just simply created a virtual Windows 98 using Microsoft Virtual Machine and it works perfectly.

Maybe this could work for others with problems like this?
Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2010, 01:23:04 pm »

Glad you got it working!
Logged

baxter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Bi-polar anim8or?
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2010, 02:02:39 am »

Scratch that again, it seems it was a driver issue, all I did was uninstall and reinstall my graphics drivers and it worked.

I'm hitting myself for not thinking of it in the first place.
Logged