Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: saving in scene  (Read 4152 times)

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: saving in scene
« Reply #15 on: May 01, 2010, 09:27:18 am »

Hi there, :),
 Just to elaborate on a couple of things.
 As ENSONIQ5 has said, making a pose in sequence mode and keying all bones is important, not just for the reasons givin, but also because if you dont, and just activate bones as you need them in scene mode, you'll find yourself having to be constantly scrolling up and down in the time track looking for bones that should be listed next to each other.  ie: head bone x,y,z,, neck bone x,y,z, R shoulder x,y,z,, R forearm x,y,z, R wrist, xyz and so on. 
It can also be really annoying when  the y axis of a bone is listed at top of time track, yet the x and z of the same bone are way further down.
 Making the 'all bones keyed pose', and placing into scene at the beginning, will put all your bones in a much tidier and more easily usable order in the time track.
 (ENSONIQ5  uses a T pose, i use a 'Stand pose'. Same results)

 After that though, its not necessary to key all bones in every subsequent sequence. I make a lot of sequences and key only the bones that are necessary. Ie; I make a walk cycle with legs only.  Legs and feet are keyed, nothing else. His arms are still in default 'T' pose. NO KEYS.  Then, i  have a 'throw' sequence, and only the upper bones are keyed.
 Now, i can add the 'walk legs only' sequence, and then the 'throw' sequence can be added into the same frames. So your character will now throw something while he's walking.
 One place where this is really handy is when animating hands. By making 'pose sequences' of fingers in different positions, its then quick and easy to add 'a lot' of  movement to your characters hands without needing to move the fingers manually every time. The 4 most basic would probably be 'R hand open, L hand open, R hand closed, L hand closed. (4 seperate sequences)
 Just remember to key 'only the hand bones, and nothing else. (key selected bones).

 Good luck guys.
Logged
%

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 929
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: saving in scene
« Reply #16 on: May 01, 2010, 11:40:13 am »

Quite right about keying only the bones being used in a sequence Johnar, not sure what I was thinking when I posted that!  Rellik, you can make as many sequences for a figure as you like, and you can drop them into any keyframe in Scene mode.
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: saving in scene
« Reply #17 on: May 01, 2010, 07:57:57 pm »

I normally do key all the bones, I wish there was a button or something that would do it for you, that'd be helpful and save a lot of time.

But also: If you don't really need to do that, then that's great! But I still don't understand "how" to add different sequences in one scene. It never seems to work.
Thanks for all the posts, you guys! (Even though it's not my topic :P )
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 929
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: saving in scene
« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2010, 12:00:24 am »

To add another sequence to a scene, just move to the keyframe you want it to start on and click Build>Add Sequence.  There is a menu item to key all the bones in Sequence mode, but unfortunately not in Scene mode.
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: saving in scene
« Reply #19 on: May 02, 2010, 03:06:44 am »

Oh, yes, I think I've seen that key button in sequence. So as long as the "sequence" is made in the sequence mode there should be no problems? I'll probably read this post later and realize I was wrong, but whatever. :P

Does it matter if the keyframe I want the next sequence to start on, is already in the middle of another sequence?
Thanks again. =]
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 929
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: saving in scene
« Reply #20 on: May 02, 2010, 03:54:02 am »

You can drop a sequence into the middle of another sequence for the same figure, but Anim8or will convert the original sequence into keyframes.  This means that editing the original sequence (in Sequence mode) will no longer have any effect on the animation in Scene mode.  It is advisable to avoid doing this where possible, particularly if the same bones are being manipulated in both sequences.  It would be preferable to use either sequences that don't overlap or manipulate the bones directly in Scene mode.
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: saving in scene
« Reply #21 on: May 02, 2010, 05:18:35 am »

I didn't say I wanted to, just wonderin'. :)
Thanks 'gain
3DGeek
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]