Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Reflection MASK ?!?  (Read 4610 times)

cooldude234

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • You know what I realized, I dont have an avatar :\
    • View Profile
Re: Reflection MASK ?!?
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2010, 03:24:36 pm »

For the shadows, that could be fixed in two seconds in Firworks (Fireworks - in my opinoin, better than photo shop!). Do you have Fireworks? If so what other programs I might be able to help you with that you have?
Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Reflection MASK ?!?
« Reply #16 on: May 04, 2010, 03:37:07 pm »

The school computer I'm on has Fireworks, correct me if I'm wrong but I don't believe it has support of animations other than GIFs. One of the issues stated earlier is that he could do it if it was a still, but he is doing an animation.
Logged

dwsel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
    • Dwsel art
Re: Reflection MASK ?!?
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2010, 10:16:26 pm »

Hello! I'm back here after few months, because I'm preparing animation for one subject on my university, and guess which software I've decided to use ;)

when you are bluring the shadow layer, some spaces appears, because is only the shadow we see, but not an shadow pass. Maybe, when it comes to still images that can be fixed, but for animation render is not an solution.

I would try to 'grow' shadow layer with minimum filter after or before bluring. This is easily automated and should also work for animation (if you have this filter available in your compositing app).
Description of filter:
http://www.digimizer.com/manual/m-image-filtermin.php
http://www.roborealm.com/help/Min.php
Logged

cooldude234

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • You know what I realized, I dont have an avatar :\
    • View Profile
Re: Reflection MASK ?!?
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2010, 11:37:57 pm »

Quote
The school computer I'm on has Fireworks, correct me if I'm wrong but I don't believe it has support of animations other than GIFs. One of the issues stated earlier is that he could do it if it was a still, but he is doing an animation.
You use fireworks for the image editing and making, not for animation (unless you want a gif), I used simply Windows Movie maker. I imported all the pictures I made from the animation and edited in fireworks, then I put it together and compile it into a format like AVI or WMV. It could work the same with just about any decent video editing/ making software.
But yes, I actually just took the picture provided (with the car) and fixed it during lunch (yea I know I was bored LOL)
« Last Edit: May 04, 2010, 11:47:38 pm by cooldude234 »
Logged

$imon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
    • View Profile
Re: Reflection MASK ?!?
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2010, 08:13:14 am »

I think Daniel was looking for a one-click-solution, cooldude ;)

Quick answer - there is none. When blurring the shadow pass, it blurs all edges of the shadow-layer, so also around the tires/car, which will make a white space in between. There is no way for the program to know which side of the shadow to blur.
The easiest solution would be to render the shadow as soft in Anim8or. Takes a little bit longer but it will save you time and work in post production. Plus this will give a more accurate result (less blur close to the object, moreso far away)

An other solution would be to use the blur tool in Photoshop or what other program you use and go over the sides of the shadow itself. This might save you time rendering but is very labour intensive in Post production.

Good luck trying to figure that out! ;)
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]