Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Broken Select tool?  (Read 5250 times)

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Broken Select tool?
« on: July 27, 2010, 01:22:43 am »

So, I was reading the "eggplant tutorial" (I just got the program and i'm new) and I was selecting some things, but later, around when I tried to make the second bend in the stem, it wouldn't unselect, or select anything else. I tried restarting the program, but it still wouldn't select.  what's going on? how do I fix it?!
Logged

nikolasmantilla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 05:41:03 am »

is it happening with same file or if you do somethign new it happens again
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 08:03:40 am »

modifiers r a bit weird. i really havent used them much at all but if i were u i would go to the manual and learn how to do it. 2 me it looked like u missed a step and anim8or is waiting for u 2 go to the next step so u can continue.

ive (glitched) a modifier so i could hide some points on an object. so i did what u did but the whole point was to not be able to select things. i 4get how i did it but it looks like u figured it out 2
Logged
h

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 02:10:52 pm »

yeah, I think what I idid was I forgot to bind the modifier before I went to bend it.  so, does anyone know how to fix it? I restarted my computer too, nothing.
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2010, 02:47:44 pm »

Can you post a picture of your scene? Will help i think.
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2010, 03:07:34 pm »

well, it's not really a "scene" it's an object, but sure
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2010, 03:34:57 pm »

On the picture I can see that you are in Point Edit mode. If so, you maybe didn't notice that( sometimes i do this too ;D). Just turn back to Edit mode.
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2010, 03:49:28 pm »

yes, but that causes it to select the whole thing, then I can't bind the modifier.  it's the face select drag select that I need and won't work.
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2010, 03:58:52 pm »

Ok, then your modifier must not be bind on object. Do whatever you want to do in point edit mode and then bind the modifier in edit mode
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2010, 04:05:25 pm »

delete the modifier
Logged
h

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2010, 04:13:20 pm »

oooh that might do it! I idecided to make a new file and it worked fine, I was afraid I corrupted my old file or something. ok! i'll delete the modifier and finish the egg plant, then continue the bird
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2010, 04:17:24 pm »

AAH! no, it didn't work. I deleted the modifiers and select still doesn't work for the file
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2010, 04:24:46 pm »

Since the file is not broken i don't think there is a bug or something. You can't select any point or face or anything? There is no group? Chek all these out.


Ignore that about the group. Works too
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 04:28:59 pm by Gyperboloid »
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2010, 05:09:32 pm »

nope, none of it works. now the bird is doing it too! I was about to do point select and make the bottom eyelid, and nothing is selecting!  what is going on here!? it's getting really frustrating!
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: Broken Select tool?
« Reply #14 on: July 27, 2010, 05:19:20 pm »

If you don't mind, post your file, so i'll try too.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2