Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: need help with 3D modeling tool  (Read 2122 times)

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
need help with 3D modeling tool
« on: July 28, 2010, 09:46:53 pm »

is there a detailed tutorial on how to set up the "add edge" tool? I'm trying to model a horse skull like the realistic head modeling and I can't make the edge or any kind of line. as you can see in the picture, I tried starting out with a square, but I can't add on to it.
Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 571
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2010, 10:02:33 pm »

Hi CoriDavis, :)
to start
HOLD SHIFT + LEFT MOUSE CLICK!
see in Manual = http://www.anim8or.com/manual/4_object_editor.html
in "Adding Points and Edges" is easy ok! :) sorry my english..
« Last Edit: July 28, 2010, 10:05:11 pm by neirao »
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2010, 10:04:37 pm »

Ooooh! thank you so much!
Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 571
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2010, 10:08:20 pm »

you are wellcome!! ;)
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 10:09:45 pm »

so I got that to work, but the "Extrude Edges" won't do anything, and how do I get rid of that square? I've tried every way to try to delete it
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2010, 10:35:53 pm »

u have 2 select an esge of a face. if ur in the wireframe view the line will turn green when u select it.

try filling the holes on ur square maybe then u can select it. or delete the points
Logged
h

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2010, 10:49:16 pm »

Ok, I changed modes after moving the suare and I got rid of it, but when I try to extrude the edge of the line I made, do I just click and drag? is there something special i'm supposed to do? clicking and dragging does nothing, even with an edge selected.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2010, 10:51:29 pm by CoriDavis »
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2010, 11:15:55 pm »

I got it!!! I had to fill the holes first, that was what I was doing wrong
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2010, 01:24:59 am »

Ok, what do I do if one of my squares won't fill in no matter what I do? I tried re-covering the lines in case I had a gap, and it still wouldn't work
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: need help with 3D modeling tool
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2010, 12:09:52 pm »

Maybe the edges are so close, that them seem to be connected, but they are not. I always select the point(s) and merge them to check it up, if I have the same problem. And a sreenshot is always helpfull ;)
Logged