Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Trees  (Read 7765 times)

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Trees
« Reply #30 on: August 19, 2010, 07:03:22 pm »

Glad you got it working ok, now.... just goes to show that you really need to render it before you say it does not work LOL!!

remember with any alpha you won`t see the result until its rendered!
Logged
O

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #31 on: August 19, 2010, 07:04:47 pm »

it was just an exaggeration. I don't know how many polys is considered "a lot" or how to count them. the render time was okay, i'm about to post my video, look for it in the "creations, works in progress" board
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 949
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #32 on: August 19, 2010, 07:18:26 pm »

to count all that stuff just go to Options->Info
Logged
?

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #33 on: August 19, 2010, 07:41:29 pm »

oh ok
Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #34 on: August 22, 2010, 04:14:50 am »

With your leaves being mapped and all, you probably don't need to subdivide them, you could probably just use a rectangle that is divided through its width a few times and have it curved. However, then you would have problems with the shadow, which will then be a rectangle, so you can use the knife tool to cut along the image of the transparency map and delete the outer points. Also, I've noticed that if you have too many transparent faces in a line that the camera sees, (if they are transparency mapped), when rendered, you end up with the areas that are exposed to be transparent being black. I don't know if it has to do with the ART Renderer (cause thats the one I used, I should try the scanline and see if that fixes it...   ;)), If it is, I would expect it to do something with the maximum reflection value for the rays (which I can't seem to find  :-[), but I digress :P. That should help with the poly count anyway, and you may be able to find a way to excape the issue of the black areas. Oh, and if you want the transparency map to take effect without rendering, go to view->preferences, and you should have a option under the name of "transparency" or something like that (I'm not on a computer with Anim8or or I'd check for the exact name), and you can turn it on. That should get it working. Sorry for my tiresome monologue, but I hope this helps ;).
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #35 on: August 22, 2010, 10:03:21 pm »

yeah, what I did for the leaves, I made an ovel with pointed tips (a leaf shape) and I cut it through to make it bend. It only added up to 1000-something polys, is that a lot?
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 949
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #36 on: August 23, 2010, 12:06:01 am »

Not if you ask me. It seems way over for just a tree, but models like that don't need to be high poly in the first place, especially since they're background objects where they don't neede much detail.
Logged
?
Pages: 1 2 [3]