Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: need help skinning  (Read 4714 times)

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2010, 10:36:16 pm »

so.. I went to bring my figure into sequence mode and I REALLY need to touch-up some spots.. it's stretching in all sorts of crazy directions
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2010, 10:46:12 pm »

Yeap. I am not a pro and I still have not done any animation but by some tests I figured some things out. Maybe after a lot of practicing you will be able to rig your model at once and it will be perfect in sequence mode, but in most cases you have to switch all the time between figure and sequence mode to see where you have not skinned your model properly ;)
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2010, 12:36:29 am »

Ok, so I almost had everything fixed, I was patching up the last bit and I switched to sequence editor one more time... and this happened...
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2010, 12:44:28 am »

Wow :D it seems that the front leg is skinned to the back leg's bone. So when you move the back bone, front leg is moving too. Try when you skin, to not to cover legs ( one is behind the other )
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2010, 12:49:23 am »

yeah, that's what I thought I did, this happened after I skinned the back and I was in the side view nowhere near the legs  ::)...
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2010, 08:22:27 am »

You seem to be having Fun!!...... its not easy to weight paint anything in Anim8or, but gives you a good grounding when you migrate to other programs ie: ( Carrara.... weight painting uses 3d brush and is semi automatic when you add a sketeton so there is minimal painting!!)
But here`s some little tips that I use:
 
1:find a bone that does not have any movement then paint the whole model with that colour, then start on each individual joint.

2: also try using wireframe mode when doing intricate stuff you can see what missed and what needs painting

3: uncheck your skeleton during your painting process to see where you have overpainted.

Hope this helps. did you get to see the video ??

Logged
O

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #21 on: September 18, 2010, 02:07:02 pm »

yep, I did all of that, I painted  my object first with the same bone I attached it to.  and as for the huge mess-up I showed you, I just closed out without saving and tried it again, starting from my first touching-up.  now I'm coloring in one portion at a time and saving in between.

And yes, the video works now. is that your voice? are you austrailian? that's so cool! lol
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #22 on: September 18, 2010, 04:33:54 pm »

one other question, all of the characters in this movie are horses, i'm planning on using the same object for each character, but having different colors and markings.  is there a way I can import the weight info from one object to the other? or will I have to do it all over again...
Logged

lynn22

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
    • 3D Animation
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #23 on: September 18, 2010, 04:44:49 pm »

I'm not quite sure but you could try to export your figure together with its object to a new an8 file.
In that new file give the object color and markings using different material names and import the file into the original file again as a new figure. See if it works, if it does this test could save you a lot of time.
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: need help skinning
« Reply #24 on: September 18, 2010, 05:04:02 pm »

that just might work! I have two of the same file, one is a backup of my current file (I always have a backup) I could use that!
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]