Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Is there a possibility to create a tube along a spline?  (Read 2176 times)

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Is there a possibility to create a tube along a spline?
« on: November 14, 2010, 11:54:29 am »

hey guys,
im working on a character(my other thread, the mod)
and now i need a not-straight tube.
frankly, im too lazy to do it by hand.... ;D
is there any script or tutorial?
thanks.
greetings
« Last Edit: November 14, 2010, 01:12:28 pm by Maximilianibus »
Logged

$imon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a possibility to create a tube along a spline?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 12:57:53 pm »

You can extrude a circular spline along the path you want.

- Draw the path that the tube has to follow
- Make a x-sided N-Gon that has the diameter of your tube
- select the N-Gon, go to Build>Extrude and choose 'path' on the left, set the other settings as you want
- click 'ok' and click on the path you drew at the beginning

that should work ;)

Logged

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Re: Is there a possibility to create a tube along a spline?
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 01:12:08 pm »

thanks! ill try...
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Is there a possibility to create a tube along a spline?
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 04:29:03 pm »

I find NickE`s  ASL script is a very quick option, I assume that you know where to add the script .

Just rename your spline to tubepath  then click the  icon tubepath, then drag in the work area

It is a Parametric shape initally, so alter the default values

ie: Sides = 12, default(6)
    Diameter = 2, default (6)
    Divisions = 60, default (8 ) or other values that suit your needs. The more divisions the smoother the tube becomes ;D

    Then convert to mesh  then you can safely delete your spline.

    I attach the a8s file,  and screenshot of script in action.

 
« Last Edit: November 14, 2010, 04:36:39 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 925
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Is there a possibility to create a tube along a spline?
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 08:43:28 pm »

If using the 'Extrude along path' method suggested by $imon, be sure to create both splines (ie the path and the N-Gon) in Front view.  If either spline is created in another view the spline coords get messed up and the N-Gon doesn't correctly follow the path.
Logged