Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: help!!!  (Read 2116 times)

freesailor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
help!!!
« on: November 30, 2010, 08:59:21 am »

can anyone tell me what is going here???(attached image) I'm trying to draw a circle with ASL, but for some(probbly simple) reason, it only draws verti(?) up to 251...the circle is supposed to have 360 points and vertices...
here's the partial code:
Code: [Select]

               $z=0; $inc = ($z*PI)/180; $x = 0; $y = 0;
$circle.OpenFace(0,0);
for $i = 0 to 360 do
{
$x = cos($inc)*$h; $y = sin($inc)*$h;
$circle.VertexN($circle.AddPoint(($x, $y, 0)));
$z = $z+1;
$inc = ($z*PI)/180;
}
$circle.CloseFace();
I can't figure it out, it draws the full circle if I use 2 degree increments, but not with one...grrrrrrr
as you can see, I'm only getting about 70% of the circle... but all the points are there????javascript:void(0);

thanks
and
aloha
freesailor
Logged

TheBlackHole

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: help!!!
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 03:00:06 pm »

If all you need is a circle, use an n-gon with 360 sides and fill it. ;)
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: help!!!
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 09:13:18 pm »

My guess is just that you have too many vertices/edges for the face to be built.  There may be some kind of a limit in Anim8or.  I would try working to code so that when the circle is created it creates multiple faces instead of the single one.
Logged

freesailor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: help!!!
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2010, 12:15:16 am »

hmmm... hihosilver, that is one conclusion that I reached..fooey
and TheBlackHole, I need more then just a circle... have a new project in the works(see attached image:gear.jpg)...
which brings me to another problem I'm having with subdivision(image attached: huh.jpg)... the mesh is the same as I've seen in others models, but mine won't subdivide correctly... I assume that I'm not drawing it in the right order or something... any help????
thanks for your advice, both of ya and
aloha
freesailor
Logged