Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?  (Read 3170 times)

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« on: December 05, 2010, 04:33:46 pm »

Hey guys, its me again.
by the way: new profilepic... nice, isnt it? ;)
back to my problem:
how to use the "add edge" tool?
it wont work for me!
help!
greetings
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2010, 08:56:05 pm »

It might help if you provided a screen shot of what you're working on.  My guess is that you may be trying to add an edge to something you haven't yet converted to a mesh (like a primitive), or that you're trying to add an edge between two separat meshes.  If the latter, you first need to select both meshes and click Build > Join Solids.
Logged
G

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2010, 03:23:28 pm »

well, yeah. i did that, but i cant fill them...
EDIT:
Hi jonnie!
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2010, 04:49:38 pm »

Like I said, posting a screen shot could work wonders.  Otherwise, it's a guessing game as to what your problem may be...
Logged
G

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2010, 05:37:21 pm »

well, ok, ill see. but not today, ill have to fix my pc. it crashed because of my heaset! i dont hear any sound! :(
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2010, 06:49:47 am »

its pretty simple. i still dont get y it is set up like this but u only need to do this once. just hold down shift to make your 1st edge. after that u just click and drag it. that is probably the hardest thing in anim8or, its really easy to miss. the "trick" i used to use was make a cube the convert to mesh then delete all but 1 point. so u can really do it either way. good luck
Logged
h

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2010, 07:38:14 pm »

well, i still cant fill it...
Logged

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2010, 06:07:58 pm »

fill holes. J i beleive.

u should read the manual and tinker around with all of the features 1st just so u have a roiugh idea with where everythings at. ive neglected to read the manual and i pretty much jumped right into it and i run into a bunch of unecessary problems.

when in wireframe mode and u highlight the lines some will be different colors. if a line is red that means it is not connected. there is green which means that it is an open line on the edge of a mesh. i pretty much asociate that with the extrude edge tool.

thinking about it you might of held down shift to make each point. you dont need to do that. you only have to do it once to get started. if you do it again it will make another object and the only way to connect that is to "join solids". i hope i helped a bit.
Logged
h

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2010, 10:17:24 pm »

Well, im almost colorblind...:D
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2010, 12:55:34 am »

OK, let's try this again, Maximiliianibus...

Why not post a screen shot of your problem, or your actual project file?  That way, we can all see what it is you're trying to do, and maybe provide you some pointers!
Logged
G

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2010, 07:28:28 pm »

actually, it was a general question...
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2010, 02:03:53 am »

OK.

So, did you resolve your problem?  Because I don't see any indication that you have.  And if so, it's sometimes nice to share with others what the solution was, so they can in turn learn.
Logged
G

rellik420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
    • youtube channel
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2010, 04:26:34 am »

i think we've helped as much as we can. you havent given us any feedback of what your problem is. and like rudy said a screenshot always helps a lot. we really cant help u unless u help us.

and we gave you a general solution
Logged
h

Maximilianibus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bla Bla Bla, Mr Freeman!
    • View Profile
    • Please Subscribe!
Re: Problem: How can I create a mesh by hand?
« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2010, 01:02:39 pm »

no, i didnt solve the problem...
Logged