Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Teeny Little Glitch  (Read 2439 times)

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Teeny Little Glitch
« on: February 01, 2012, 09:51:14 pm »

So on my new computer, the select tool seems to ghost all over the place when I use it. Is there a fix to this?
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2012, 10:01:14 pm »

Cori ---
I've periodically run into this, too, and it's annoying.  It may be a graphics card and/or graphics driver issue.  You may want to verify that you have the latest driver software for your graphics card.
Logged
G

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2012, 10:18:57 pm »

It should be, it's a new computer. How do I find out, and how do I update it?
Logged

3D Joe Wiltshire

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 728
  • Winter's Coming :O
    • View Profile
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2012, 10:53:08 pm »

I had this with windows vista before, I think the solution was running in compatibility mode or something similar :P
Logged

cooldude234

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • You know what I realized, I dont have an avatar :\
    • View Profile
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2012, 10:53:21 pm »

That's because the window isn't refreshing after rendering the line over top of it.
This is the os's doings.
Logged
¼

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2012, 10:57:09 pm »

It is running in a compatibility mode. So if it's just the OS, does that mean I have to deal with it?
Logged

cooldude234

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • You know what I realized, I dont have an avatar :\
    • View Profile
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2012, 10:59:46 pm »

You can force the update of the screen, in other words, once you're done selection what ever, just drag the window off screen and back on screen and it should be fixed.
This sometimes happens in other programs on my computer (windows xp), and that's what I do to fix it.
Logged
¼

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2012, 02:06:03 am »

The ghosting only stays until I let go of the mouse, so I guess it's not that big of a problem if I have to deal with it. Though sometimes I worry it might crash the program, which I think it's done at least once
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • View Profile
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2012, 05:01:51 am »

It's a pretty common Anim8or bug in the newer Windows operating systems. Anim8or has never crashed on me while I was drag-selecting, that I can recall. I can't say if that also applies to you, but it's not that much of an eyesore, right? ;)
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Teeny Little Glitch
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2012, 06:04:38 am »

You may have already done so, but maybe try a different compatibility setting.  I was able to resolve this problem by disabling desktop composition for Anim8or (right click the Anim8or icon, select Properties, Compatibility tab, tick the 'Disable desktop composition' checkbox).  I also run it in XP (SP2) compatibility.

All that happens with this setting is that your desktop colour scheme changes to W7 Basic (assuming you are running W7), on closing Anim8or it changes back automatically.
Logged