Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: How do I fill edges?  (Read 2142 times)

Airedale11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
How do I fill edges?
« on: June 02, 2012, 07:11:33 am »

I want to fill a group of connected edges to create a face but the "Fill Holes" command doesn't work.

Attached is a picture of the edges I'm trying to fill.
Logged
"

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 925
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: How do I fill edges?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2012, 08:33:48 am »

Most likely you have some duplicate, coincident vertex points and therefore open faces.  Switch to wireframe mode and drag the vertex point at the bottom right of the nearest unfillable poly in any direction and you'll see what I mean (select the vertex with the point tool, don't group select the vertex otherwise you'll grab all the duplicates too).  You'll need to delete the duplicate(s) and redraw edges as required.
Logged

Airedale11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: How do I fill edges?
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2012, 08:52:09 am »

I tried doing what you said but it still didn't create a face inside the edges.
I gave up and decided to remake the shape. What first made me have to redraw the edges was that while I was cutting the shapes into a sphere, it didn't cut properly on the opposite side at some places. This time I checked each angle and cut where it was needed.

So, I guess this problem is solved now.
Logged
"

lppena

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
  • Anim8or, does a body good.
    • View Profile
    • Truespace Anim8or Casual Modeling Forum.
Re: How do I fill edges?
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2012, 09:16:43 am »

Did you try selecting the edge / button then rectangular tool to highlight the edges and then the fill hole tool? I too have had issues where I use the detach faces tool and could not add faces to the seperated objects. Perhaps someone could post on how to add faces propertly in such a case. I've tried the add edges tool but they always seem detached from the existing object; don't really undestand Anim8or functions well enough yet to correct this mysterious behaviour in A8. Thanks, Leroy.
Logged

Airedale11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: How do I fill edges?
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2012, 09:22:16 am »

I did exactly that. It didn't work.
Logged
"

Airedale11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: How do I fill edges?
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2012, 09:54:24 am »

That's strange... When I did this to a different object it worked perfectly.
Logged
"

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
    • View Profile
Re: How do I fill edges?
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2012, 08:14:06 pm »

Here's a quick animation going through the motions for the kind of object you posted. As ENSONIQ5 stated, duplicate edges or vertices will mess up your ability to fill holes. And rather than using the knife tool to cut through both sides of the sphere at the same time, it's better to play it safe and do the individual cuts, as you did the second time. Play with the tools enough and you'll understand how they function.
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 925
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: How do I fill edges?
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2012, 01:41:26 am »

Awesome animation Raxx!!  A picture tells a thousand words!  I assume merging all points with a small proximity value would also correct any non-filling issues due to duplicate vertexes, I must admit I am a bit anal about my vertexes and edges and prefer the manual approach.
Logged

Airedale11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: How do I fill edges?
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2012, 09:32:15 am »

That is a great animation Raxx. It explains your advice really nicely. :)
Logged
"