Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Can't get terranim8or to work on new laptop.  (Read 2062 times)

stevcast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Can't get terranim8or to work on new laptop.
« on: June 08, 2012, 10:10:19 pm »

  I'm new to the whole world of computer graphics and animation, but I keep plugging away. Recently I purchased a new laptop with Windows 7, same as my old laptop. The problem is that I can't get Terranim8or to run on my new computer. When I start Terranim8or, instead of getting a blue "work area", I get a white screen. I've tried everything I can think of to get it to work, but no luck so far!! The program ran fine on my old laptop, but it is a hassle having to stop what I am doing and work on the old lap top to use Terranim8or. Does anyone have a solution to this problem?
 Please Help!!!!

  stevcast
Logged

lppena

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Anim8or, does a body good.
    • View Profile
    • Truespace Anim8or Casual Modeling Forum.
Re: Can't get terranim8or to work on new laptop.
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2012, 11:14:56 pm »

I've heard that the current video drivers for W7 are too new for Anim8or. Have you tried running A8 in compatibility mode for WXP?
Logged

stevcast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get terranim8or to work on new laptop.
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2012, 12:50:15 am »

 Yes, I've tried everything. However, anim8or works on my computer, but terranim8or doesn't. ???
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1447
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get terranim8or to work on new laptop.
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2012, 02:33:35 am »

Well, the program runs fine on my computer, running on an ATI graphics card. There is something you can try, called GLDirect, that basically converts the opengl draw commands to directx, which may allow you to see what's going on. Basically:

1) Install it
2) Restart Windows (you may get some .sys error messages after rebooting)
3) Set the SciTech GLDirect Configuration program to Win 98 compatibility
4) Run it, save the settings
5) Open up Terranim8or and see if it worked.

You should read up on this page: http://biederman.net/leslie/terranim8or/instructions.htm also. And then email Leslie if nothing works.
Logged

stevcast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get terranim8or to work on new laptop.
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2012, 03:00:01 am »

 Thanks Raxx, I'll give it a try. I've tried about everything else I can think of.
Logged

stevcast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get terranim8or to work on new laptop.
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2012, 03:04:55 am »

 cello95, sorry to hear you are in the same boat I am in, but if I get it working I'll post the "band aid" here. ;D

 stevcast
Logged

stevcast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get terranim8or to work on new laptop.
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2012, 03:20:14 am »

YES!!! Stevcast I have the same problem; it's annoying. So I "work blind"---I don't worry about the workspace, I just run through the menus and get out as fast as I can.
...Even though it makes no difference while working, try pressing "Ctrl N" or "new project" repeatedly, it at least shows what TN8 would look like.
Hope this helps.
T

Cello95, guess what? I just got the problem fixed. If you are running Windows 7, the problem is with the Windows 7 Aero display. Go to Terranim8or and click on trouble with compatibility go through the process until you come to an option that states program works, but window doesn't display properly. Click it and have Windows remedy the problem. It will end up that Windows will change the display perameters for that program (i.e., terranim8or). I hope this works for you like it just did for me! I'll check back to see if it worked for you.
 Good Luck!
 stevcast
Logged