Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!  (Read 5416 times)

9robban6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« on: September 30, 2012, 08:08:18 pm »

Hi, I have some problems with my Anim8or configurations.
I go to "File>Configure..." and set "Scripts" to my folder and mark
"Preload Scripts" and then click "OK". When I close Anim8or and start Anim8or again, my configurations are gone! Like if it never were saved. I have done this multiply times with the same result, I also checked so I have done it 100% correctly.

I have also tried to run my scripts through
"Scripts>Run Script File..."
"Scripts>Load Script File..."
and "Scripts>Run Script File..."

It starts but the script won't do what it should, that will say nothing.
I think it has to be started with the program as everyone else is doing it that way.

Iam doing this for this script:

(export_gm6_plugin.a8s)

Download site
http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=333219


.
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2012, 08:51:13 pm »

This might sound like a stupid question but, Have you made a folder called Scripts on your computer, and have you placed the script file in there.

As it should work.  I assume also, that you are using 0.97D version of Anim8or.

Edit: Also make sure you check the script console then you can see them loading in when anim8or loads up at start if you get nothing then you have definitely done something wrong. The Script file you are trying to load works for me, when it is run from Scripts/"Run Script."  You will need to save the object and export as "GM6 d3d"
see attached image...

« Last Edit: September 30, 2012, 10:09:22 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2012, 08:55:04 pm »

Y'know, I have essentially this exact same problem. Running under Win7, no comp mode. I guess I have no reason to be replying to this thread, for that.
Logged
?

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1448
    • View Profile
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2012, 09:04:18 pm »

If what Kreator suggested doesn't work, try disabling your antivirus as well, just in case it's interfering with Anim8or's ability to save to the registry (if that is the cause, then add the program to your list of exceptions--don't worry, Anim8or is safe ;))

If nothing works then you can manually change the settings in Regedit:

Open Regedit
Navigate to "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Silicon Valley Software\Anim8or"
Double click on Scripts.Preload and set it to 1
Double click on Directory.Script and set it to the directory you want (should look like C:\Your\Folder)

If you can't find these settings then you could try making them manually and see if Anim8or reads them. Attached is a registry file that will create all the values you need. But before executing it, right-click it and edit it in notepad, and set the "Directory.Script"="" line to your script folder.

(EDIT: I should mention that if you aren't comfortable modifying your registry, then educate yourself until you are, prior to messing around with it)
« Last Edit: September 30, 2012, 09:10:58 pm by Raxx »
Logged

9robban6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2012, 03:56:41 pm »

If what Kreator suggested doesn't work, try disabling your antivirus as well, just in case it's interfering with Anim8or's ability to save to the registry (if that is the cause, then add the program to your list of exceptions--don't worry, Anim8or is safe ;))

If nothing works then you can manually change the settings in Regedit:

Open Regedit
Navigate to "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Silicon Valley Software\Anim8or"
Double click on Scripts.Preload and set it to 1
Double click on Directory.Script and set it to the directory you want (should look like C:\Your\Folder)

If you can't find these settings then you could try making them manually and see if Anim8or reads them. Attached is a registry file that will create all the values you need. But before executing it, right-click it and edit it in notepad, and set the "Directory.Script"="" line to your script folder.

(EDIT: I should mention that if you aren't comfortable modifying your registry, then educate yourself until you are, prior to messing around with it)

I do have the 0.95 verision and a scripts folder! With the file in it! But no cmd/console shows up when running Anim8or.

First I disabled my antivirus program. It didn't work.

I navigated to "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software" but then I couldn't find "Silicon Valley Software".
I downloaded your "Set Anim8or Values" I opened it with notepad and changed the "Directory.Script" to my destination (C:\Users\Hellmers\Desktop\Anim8or\Scripts). But it didn't make the "Directory.Script". So I erased (C:\Users\Hellmers\Desktop\Anim8or\Scripts) In your file ("Set Anim8or Values") and ran it again, then it made the "Directory.Script". Then I ran regedit and changed the "Directory.Script" value to (C:\Users\Hellmers\Desktop\Anim8or\Scripts). Saved and then ran Anim8or without any success. I also tried to restart my computer and then run Anim8or.

Thanks for taking your time to help me
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2012, 06:06:53 pm »

0.95 should run a console, if scripts are present I would suggest you get the latest version of Anim8or here..

http://www.anim8or.com/download/preview/anim8or_v097d_preview.zip

see if that cures the problem..

Also I have all my scripts in a folder called Plugins rather than scripts, you could try using a different name.

what verion of windows are you using?
« Last Edit: October 01, 2012, 06:15:38 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

9robban6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2012, 06:28:21 pm »

0.95 should run a console, if scripts are present I would suggest you get the latest version of Anim8or here..

http://www.anim8or.com/download/preview/anim8or_v097d_preview.zip

see if that cures the problem..

Also I have all my scripts in a folder called Plugins rather than scripts, you could try using a different name.

what verion of windows are you using?

I shall test that! Im using Windows 7 x64
Logged

9robban6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2012, 06:33:04 pm »

It still seems like Anim8or just don't save the configurations...
That's the only problem as I see it.
Logged

9robban6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2012, 06:35:19 pm »

Raxx, if anyone can't find the solution of this problem I thought if you could take a look at my computer through a "Online computer remote" or something like that? Then you can see exactly what's happening :)
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2012, 07:38:31 pm »

It still seems like Anim8or just don't save the configurations...
That's the only problem as I see it.

You should set the directories up then click ok, and then Close the program.  Now restart the program.

I have W7 Ultimate 64Bit and have no problems at all.


« Last Edit: October 09, 2012, 05:44:26 am by kreator »
Logged
O

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2012, 12:27:26 am »

Whoa, kreator- That fixed it for me!


(but then again, half of it may have been that I didn't bother to check preload scripts. [facepalm] )
Logged
?

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2012, 07:06:56 am »

I expect the originator of this thread 9Robban6 has sorted the problem out now, hence the lack of reply so just to recap
for anyone else with the problem...

This is my method  YouTube version



1: Create a folder called Plugins
2: copy all scripts to that folder
3: Start up anim8or
4: Go to Menu/File/Configure
5: for scripts use the ... navigate button {do not manually type in the path } and find your folder

6: Now check the following Preload scripts, Console, Use autosave,

Finally click ok and shut down anim8or

Then restart Anim8or and all your scripts will be loaded via the console window.

Logged
O

flash31939

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2012, 10:10:38 pm »

Still wont work for me. And im starting to get really pissed off about it.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2012, 10:12:16 pm by flash31939 »
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: SCRIPT and CONFIGURATION problem! Won't start!
« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2012, 05:03:05 am »

Re-read the thread flash31939, you neglect to tell us which version of anim8or you are using, only some crude comment regards your state of mind.
Logged
O