Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Transparency problem  (Read 1521 times)

Miatpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Transparency problem
« on: March 28, 2013, 04:53:36 pm »

Hi, recently I downloaded a 3d model which had transparent textures. Because anim8or doesn´t support transparent textures I created a luma-matte of the texture and used it as a transparency texture. It worked and made the desired faces transparent, the problem is that the transparent faces still hides faces behind, when I orbit around the model faces behind the transparent faces becomes invisible as well.
I've got no idea why and I'm attaching the project and pictures of my settings to this post.

After looking closer to the model not all faces is hided, just some.

I hope somebody can help me, thanks!
Logged

Miatpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Transparency problem
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 04:56:51 pm »

Sorry, I forgot the textures
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • View Profile
Re: Transparency problem
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 06:04:44 pm »

Hm, I'm not sure what your problem is. If you're saying that this occurs in the workspace, it's probably that you're getting weird results because of your graphics card. Anim8or isn't a game engine so it probably relies on the graphics card to automatically manage the depth and transparency work. Mine is an ATI Radeon HD 6970 and none of the transparent textures block what's behind them. Because there is some Z-fighting on the wings, it could cause different graphics cards to handle it differently, or else just be poor management of the Z-depth due to some overlapping polygons, or else a default setting in the card that doesn't render layered transparency objects well..

Because this is just an opengl workspace issue, it doesn't show up when you actually render it. Go to Render->Render Image...  and render what you've got in your workspace, and you'll see what I mean. If you're going to use it only within Anim8or, then you have nothing to worry about. Also, the original model will work properly in any decent game engine regardless of what you see in Anim8or's workspace.

So to summarize: nothing's wrong ;)
Logged

Miatpi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Transparency problem
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2013, 08:47:06 pm »

Thank you, as you said its working perfectly when rendering it.

Thanks a lot! http://www.anim8or.com/smf/Smileys/default/cheesy.gif
Logged