Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: My first model (Head)  (Read 3789 times)

Anim8er

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
My first model (Head)
« on: March 29, 2008, 11:41:16 pm »

Hi,

Here the verry first true model that I made.  It's a simple head.  I have bigs problems with the Subdivision.  I use a million polygons!  Look by yourselfs!  ;D



So?  The nose is well done I think.  The ears a little too.  I should change this dar* problem now.

I did another one, but, now... Careful, yours eyes will probably....



 ;D

Thanks for yours coments,

Logged

3D Joe Wiltshire

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 728
  • Winter's Coming :O
    • View Profile
Re: My first model (Head)
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2008, 12:11:45 am »

nice head shapes, looks a bit like a mii, but yeah, you've got a problem with the ammount of faces, i don't know how you can reduce the ammount of faces really, but someone more knowledgeable will probably know
Logged

RnDr FOX

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Just Relax
    • View Profile
Re: My first model (Head)
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2008, 12:18:56 am »

What i would do is double click on the model and increse the smooth angle. This cut down on faces alot and I still had a smooth model the only thing is that it wont be as smooth as if you subdivided.
Logged

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: My first model (Head)
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2008, 12:52:03 am »

When you made that did you Build-> Subdivide or Subdivide Faces
If you just Subdivided you can double click on the mesh and set the Working->Divisions to 0 or 1, but if you Subdivided Faces you have a problem
Logged

Anim8er

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: My first model (Head)
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2008, 01:43:59 pm »

I try it, it's changing a little but it's not enought to have a great model.  I think the best solution is to start over.  I should just know how I can add faces and... edges. I read the french manual, and reread this section but it's hard to understand.
Logged

spicy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 546
    • View Profile
    • Xaphix
Re: My first model (Head)
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2008, 07:22:28 pm »

good first try, but too many faces. you must of subdivided loads of times (Or subdivided faces). Though better what I did when I first tried to make a face!
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: My first model (Head)
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2008, 08:46:41 pm »

With subdivision objects, you can give the model a higher subdivision level or you can go back to the base model.  To do this you double click the model and change the 'working' value.  You can input an integer from 0-4.  4 being the highest level of subdivision and 0 being the base model.  So if you're going to convert to mesh, it's best to go back to the base model first.  It seems one of the reasons that you're subdividing more is to texture the model.  This is best done by either dragging around the original vertices, or actually UV map the model and use textures on it.
Logged

im not a people person73

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • P.I.E
    • View Profile
    • my NG
Re: My first model (Head)
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2008, 11:04:59 am »

or,you can sit there for two hours drag select 2-4 faces>merge faces (shift + M) over and over and over again,evenly next to each other until you have what your going for...well, thats what i do...
Logged
Gween123 is also me (NEWGROUNDS)