Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Does not work on Windows 8 Pro. As in: at all  (Read 2066 times)

Creature

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Does not work on Windows 8 Pro. As in: at all
« on: January 01, 2014, 10:24:39 am »

Hi all. I used Anim8or many years ago and wanted to check it out again. Unfortunately, after I download it and try to run it, nothing happens. I unzip and double-clock in the exe and nothing comes up at all. I am using Windows 8 Pro 64 bit on a Microsoft Surface Pro. I tried searching the forums to see if anyone else had this problem, but the search won't work, it says all words must be at least 2 characters long (the number 8 in "Windows 8" is not two characters long).

Hardware specs:
http://www.cnet.com/laptops/microsoft-surface-with-windows/4507-3121_7-35332542.html
« Last Edit: January 01, 2014, 10:36:25 am by Creature »
Logged

lppena

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Anim8or, does a body good.
    • View Profile
    • Truespace Anim8or Casual Modeling Forum.
Re: Does not work on Windows 8 Pro. As in: at all
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2014, 05:53:25 pm »

Have you tried running it in Compatibility mode for Windows XP Service pack 3?
Logged

Creature

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Does not work on Windows 8 Pro. As in: at all
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2014, 12:56:55 am »

Yep. I tried all available compatibility modes.
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Does not work on Windows 8 Pro. As in: at all
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2014, 06:15:58 am »

what versiom of anim8or are you using?
Logged
O

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • View Profile
Re: Does not work on Windows 8 Pro. As in: at all
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2014, 08:19:14 am »

I used to have a surface pro. I'm fairly certain I got it to work, though I can't remember the specifics. Are you using Anim8or v0.98?

Also, update all your drivers.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2014, 08:34:17 am by Raxx »
Logged

dwsel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
    • Dwsel art
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
Re: Does not work on Windows 8 Pro. As in: at all
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2014, 09:57:00 pm »

I don't have a Windows 8 computer so I can't tell what's wrong.

dwsel, Anim8or uses 32b code so unfortunately that doesn't help.
Logged