Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: issue with exporting to 3ds  (Read 2441 times)

JSmith_DumDumDumDumDum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
issue with exporting to 3ds
« on: February 21, 2014, 08:50:32 am »

Hey all,
When I export my .an8 project into a .3ds file (object > export), all the textures were missing when I opened my newly created .3ds in anim8or. ("Just so you know...anim8or can't open texture file:____.jpg"). Instead, all of my project was turned up pitch black. How do I resolve this?
Thanks.

JSmith
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: issue with exporting to 3ds
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2014, 08:57:10 am »

I expect your textures are in a different location to the 3ds model.

As to it turning black, I. can only suspect that you have some bumpmaps assigned,that often is the culprit, but they render OK.
Logged
O

JSmith_DumDumDumDumDum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: issue with exporting to 3ds
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2014, 09:10:57 am »

Thank you for your response, Kreator.

A member from a different website was able to share a 3ds file with me, and part of her winrar download package didn't include the textures that made her object.

In regards to the black, I'm not so sure what you're talking about, provided that I'm an absolute novice in anim8or modding. Though, I'm more concerned about not having the textures than the fact that the object is black. 'Less the black has something to do with why the textures wouldn't load in the 3ds?

Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: issue with exporting to 3ds
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2014, 09:15:00 am »

Get on to the originator of the model to obtain the textures , you can get it to default grey, if you click on the model, or do a select all from menu bar then assign a new material to it.
Logged
O

JSmith_DumDumDumDumDum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: issue with exporting to 3ds
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2014, 09:26:06 am »

I'm sorry, I should have clarified: her 3ds downloaded with all the textures intact just fine, even if those texture files themselves weren't included in the winrar package.

My question is, how did she do this without having to include the texture files in the package? You stated that the texture files for my own 3ds is probably in a different folder than where my 3ds is saved, and they in fact are. On the other hand, will people only be able to open my 3ds if I included those t-files in the package I'll be sending them? How did my friend send hers without the t-files for hers?
Logged

lppena

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Anim8or, does a body good.
    • View Profile
    • Truespace Anim8or Casual Modeling Forum.
Re: issue with exporting to 3ds
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2014, 09:27:24 am »

I've seen this issue in other modeling software as well like Caligari's Truespace. The issue appears to be related to illumination levels getting reset some how to zero. In TS I just adjust the luminance levels up again to make the texture show up when it appears black in the workspace. Try to determine if they're  actually missing or something else may be going on.
Logged

JSmith_DumDumDumDumDum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: issue with exporting to 3ds
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2014, 09:40:41 am »

Ippena, the error message prior to the opening my 3ds file were a series of "anim8or can't open texture file:" pop-up windows. Are you sure that this is an illumiantion problem? How would I be able to fix it?
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: issue with exporting to 3ds
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2014, 02:38:17 am »

Hi JSmith,
  Just a couple of Anim8or basics which, hopefully, may be of some help.
 Have you configured where your textures are through Anim8or, so it points Anim8or in the right direction when looking for textures, objects, etc.
 If not, go 'file -> configure', and you'll see what i mean.  You'll need to make some new folders, named 'Projects', 'Textures', Import', 'images' and 'Scripts'.
 Put  these new folders into a main folder called 'Anim8or'
 So now, for example, the textures are at 'C\Anim8or\textures.
 Can also be a good idea to keep relevant textures in the 'project folder' inside the projects folder. ie: C\Anim80r\projects\SlimJim. (so, your textures will be in a folder called 'eg: SlimJim, which will be in the folder 'projects.
 When Anim8or opens a project, eg: 'SlimJim', it first searches where the textures are configured to be. ie: C\Anim8or\textures.  If it can't see them in there, it will search the project folder. ie: C\Anim8or\projects\SlimJim.
 (i think from memory thats the order which Anim8oe searches. It may be the other way around, but no difference really, it will find them if they are in either folder.
 If you send your project to a friend, the textures will need to be in the folder as well, along with the An8 file.
 Thats all i can think of at the moment.  As far as being able to see the textures in the file that your friend sent you, the answer is either A) you already have the 'images/textures on your machine, or B) They're not actually images, but materials made in the material bar.  (or possibly corrupt images, but not so likely)

Quote
anim8or can't open texture file:" pop-up windows.
usually means Anim8or can't find the texture/(image) file

 As far as 'black' goes, sorry, can't think of anything at the mo.
 Does any of this help. ?   :)
 EDIT: possibly has something to do with being .3ds. ?, rather than .an8.  In which case, i've probably just said a whole lot of stuff that you already knew, without actually being any xtra help. lol.   sorry if so....  :)
« Last Edit: February 22, 2014, 10:46:38 am by johnar »
Logged
%

lppena

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Anim8or, does a body good.
    • View Profile
    • Truespace Anim8or Casual Modeling Forum.
Re: issue with exporting to 3ds
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2014, 08:03:32 am »

Ippena, the error message prior to the opening my 3ds file were a series of "anim8or can't open texture file:" pop-up windows. Are you sure that this is an illumiantion problem? How would I be able to fix it?

I'm unsure about Anim8or but as far as I know the model should load anyways minus the textures of course. In Truespace the software will search system folders to find the missing textures; if it can't find them then it loads the model minus the textures and this is where they appear black. Don't know about Anim8or though.
Logged