Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 46

Author Topic: Changed to Older Releases [builds 1162 to 1230]  (Read 129394 times)

Deepthought

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #45 on: September 09, 2014, 07:59:59 pm »

that looks correct, thanks!
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #46 on: September 10, 2014, 10:27:04 pm »

Short reply to force the "new" notification to make my edit more visible.
Logged

Trevor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Goldfinger64 Dev OS:10.0.17017 Gfx:RX480 Loc:UK
    • View Profile
    • LS Tech Services
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #47 on: September 11, 2014, 10:32:38 pm »

Cool, so the only checkboxes still to be made to work are
Shadows
Backfaces (Which currently are always shown regardless of setting)

hmm... I dont see AA, ah well, no biggy for workspace

I have a suggestion for folders.
If a folder exists it should appear in the properties of other objects so they can be assigned that folder.

Trev
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #48 on: September 12, 2014, 12:04:39 am »

You enable AA in the View->Preferences dialog, at the bottom of the OpenGL Workspace area.  The checkbox was always there, up higher,  but disabled because I hadn't written the code yet ;)
« Last Edit: September 12, 2014, 12:04:57 am by Steve »
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 828
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1103
« Reply #49 on: September 12, 2014, 07:50:27 pm »

Major changes for build 1101:

Menu "Folders" for Objects, Figures, Sequences, Scenes: You can group Objects, Figures, etc. into sub-menus. Simply set the name of a virtual "folder" in the Object->Properties dialog.
Settings menus moved: All of the Settings menus functionality has bee moved into Object->Properties, Figure->Properties, etc.
User definable Movie FPS: You can set the default for movie frames per second and the Limit Playback values for new projects.
yay! ;D

...also, i see Edit -> Delete Object is now Object -> Delete, etc, which you forgot to mention.  could i make one more (perhaps slightly finnicky) suggestion on that point?  personally, i'd shuffle Delete a couple of places down, underneath Attributes, maybe with a separator in between just to make it stand out from the rest of the list and prevent accidental clicking.

i'm liking the snap-to-angle thing in 1097 as well.  can see myself leaving that turned on near-permanently.  although, a couple of nitpicks again: there's still only one snap-to toggle button on the toolbar even though there are now two separate snap-to settings, and snap-to-angle doesn't seem to share the shift+click-to-toggle-relative-values behaviour that snap-to-grid now has...

If a folder exists it should appear in the properties of other objects so they can be assigned that folder.
little drop-down thingy, kinda like what happens with materials in the Cylinder Editor, Sphere Editor, etc dialogues.  i'll second this motion.

i'm going to have to embark on some ambitious new CGI short film project or something, to make use of all these improvements!  now, where did i leave my scriptwriting hat? :P
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 828
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #50 on: September 12, 2014, 07:56:48 pm »

...hang on... in Scene mode, what happened to Settings -> Element?  i liked that control and i can't find it any more! :o
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #51 on: September 12, 2014, 08:47:05 pm »

If you double-click on an element it will bring up the same dialog. The Settings menu was a bit of a mixed bag before. I tried to make things more consistent.
Logged

NickE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #52 on: September 12, 2014, 08:58:01 pm »

Steve,

There are occasions when you cannot easily get to the element (for example: if it is inside another).  I use the menu access to element settings constantly.

Thank you,
NickE
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #53 on: September 12, 2014, 09:42:47 pm »

Steve,

There are occasions when you cannot easily get to the element (for example: if it is inside another).  I use the menu access to element settings constantly.

Thank you,
NickE
So do I especially with modifiers!
Logged
O

Trevor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Goldfinger64 Dev OS:10.0.17017 Gfx:RX480 Loc:UK
    • View Profile
    • LS Tech Services
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #54 on: September 12, 2014, 10:29:37 pm »

Aggreed, if an object is in another (or hidden somewhere) its usefull to use the object select list then the settings>element.

Yeah sorry Steve, I should clarify that while I enabled AA in the dialoge, no AA actually takes place.
Im not bothered though as only render is importiant.

Any update on CAD Line legnth for Paths?

Trev
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 828
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #55 on: September 13, 2014, 09:37:04 am »

There are occasions when you cannot easily get to the element (for example: if it is inside another).
i find this as well.  maybe the shortcut could be reinstated under Edit -> Element Settings (perhaps above Delete Elements), or Scene -> Element Settings?
Logged

ronaldefarmer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Ron's Website
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #56 on: September 13, 2014, 01:57:58 pm »

The new anti-aliasing feature does not work for me. If I am able to check the box for AA, then my graphics card supports this feature, right? What else might prevent this feature from working?
« Last Edit: September 13, 2014, 02:26:50 pm by ronaldefarmer »
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #57 on: September 13, 2014, 06:44:39 pm »

Trevor and thecolclough: Sorry about that -- I'll add it to the Scene menu.

ronaldefarmer: Hmmm, it should work. Maybe there isn't enough memory for a full sized multi-sample buffer. Try setting the Anim8or window fairly small and enabling AA, the exit and restart Anim8or.  If that doesn't work then I'll add some more diagnostic checks to try and figure out what's going on.
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 828
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #58 on: September 13, 2014, 08:03:13 pm »

Trevor and thecolclough: Sorry about that -- I'll add it to the Scene menu.
thank you :)
Logged

ronaldefarmer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Ron's Website
Re: Current Development Release - Build 1097, August 26, 2014
« Reply #59 on: September 13, 2014, 10:34:31 pm »

Steve,

I tried reducing the window size and restarting Anim8or, but no luck. You mentioned possibly not having enough memory; I don't know how much memory is required, but here are my system specs:

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
System Model: Dell OptiPlex 320 with OUP453 Motherboard
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 4300  @ 1.80GHz, 1800 Mhz, 2 Cores, 2 Logical Processors (overclocked to 2.2Ghz)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM): 2.00 GB
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 2400 PCI 256MB


Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 46