Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 1066 release - Face selection  (Read 4378 times)

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
1066 release - Face selection
« on: February 11, 2014, 07:15:35 am »

Cannot seem to select multiple faces?
Logged
O

captaindrewi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • errm...errr?
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2014, 11:48:08 am »

concur . or deselect a face once selected. :o
« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 11:58:04 am by captaindrewi »
Logged
!

Claude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 03:11:45 pm »

Works for me.

WIN7 x64
Intel  I5-2500K
NVidia GTX 560 TI
Logged

captaindrewi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • errm...errr?
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2014, 03:39:24 pm »

1066- think they are selected but don't show as yellow [flat shaded button selected]
Logged
!

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2014, 04:43:57 pm »

Yep, they seem to do what they want! Could only select one in Flat shaded, Drag select does not work on them.

Go to smooth shaded and you can select all. and delete individually, But in flat shaded they are all selected but you cannot switch them off with Middle mouse.

Logged
O

Claude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2014, 07:11:16 pm »

The problem seems to be that in flat shaded mode the
selection or deselection  are recorded but not shown.
If you change mode and go back to shaded mode,
it shows your selection correctly.

PS It's probably the new Opengl rendering code.
     The mesh data is duplicated in a different format to
     to make rendering faster,but it's not updated
     in flat shaded mode when selection or deselection 
     are made.The problem is not showing when the old code
     is used.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 09:43:46 pm by Claude »
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1523
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2014, 02:30:46 am »

Oops, a bug! The faces are being selected but Anim8or isn't telling that to the new flat-face code :-)  I'll post an update soon.

Note: in the mean time, if you switch to smooth or wire-frame and then back to flat mode the faces will show as selected.  Or you can toggle back to the old code <Ctrl-N>.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 02:33:35 am by Steve »
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2014, 12:05:46 pm »

Got it Ctrl/n does the job. Thanks Steve.

I must have been losing the plot with layers hoping for some reason that the layers in object mode would be carried over into scene mode. I can now see that would not happen.

Can we see at some point objects being duplicated or copied from scene mode rather than having to go to the build menu every time to replicate the same item.
Logged
O

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1523
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2014, 05:21:58 pm »

Layers aren't finalized yet.  I do like the idea of the propagating the settings from the Object editor throughout but it's more work that you  might think to do.  Stay tuned ...

As for duplicating things in the Scene editor, currently Cut/Paste work on keys.  It would have to use an alternate command.
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2014, 10:15:03 am »


As for duplicating things in the Scene editor, currently Cut/Paste work on keys.  It would have to use an alternate command.

Unfortunately cut/copy/paste has never worked in scene mode, perhaps something along the lines of replicate could be assigned to the function keys F1,F2 and so on.... these keys are unused within the program
Logged
O

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2014, 11:59:16 am »

As for duplicating things in the Scene editor, currently Cut/Paste work on keys.  It would have to use an alternate command.

do you think, for the sake of consistency, it might be worth changing ctrl+x/c/v to work on components within the 3-d workspace the same way they do in object mode, and use different commands for timeline/keyframe operations?

and/or: i'm not aware that ctrl+d does anything at present (correct me if i'm wrong!), and i've seen that used as a 'duplicate' command in other programmes (e.g. the default control bindings in GIMP), so maybe we could have that as a 'duplicate' in scene mode?
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1523
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2014, 09:37:20 pm »

OK that makes a lot of sense.  I normally don't like to make changes that are incompatible with the current GUI commands but I suspect that copy/pasting keys isn't done that much.  So I'm leaning towards doing that here.  Maybe starting with the obvious: moving copy/paste key to the menu and using Ctrl-X/C/V for Scene elements, but Ctrl-D to duplicate has it's merits too.
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2014, 10:09:12 pm »

another related possibility - what if ctrl+x/c/v (/d?) always operated on components in the workspace, irrespective of which mode you're in, while ctrl+shift+x/c/v operated on keyframes?

if you implement a 'duplicate' command, would it be possible / would it make sense to have it bring up the duplicated component's properties dialogue immediately?
Logged

cooldude234

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • You know what I realized, I dont have an avatar :\
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2014, 10:32:24 pm »

My suggestion, not the answer to the worlds problems: Why not have it so that if you select a key frame, it deselects anything in the 3d environment so you could use the same keys Ctr-c,x,v for coping, cutting, and pasting. Is there some element in the universe stopping these two things from having constant key bindings? Ya'know like kryptonite, but for code?
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1523
    • View Profile
Re: 1066 release - Face selection
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2014, 02:41:24 am »

cooldude234, the problem is that you have to select both the Figure or Object in the scene in order to select the keys.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2