Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: [Suggestion] Anim8or Command Line  (Read 1479 times)

joaodotneto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
[Suggestion] Anim8or Command Line
« on: August 17, 2014, 01:27:48 pm »

Hail my friends!
I'm a big fan of Anim8or (since 0.95 i think) and i use it in all my 3D game prototypes and projects. Check it out my first 3D game: http://deploygamesdarknightgame.appspot.com/

My biggest need in anim8or is automation. I make some tools to generate anim8or projects (awesome JSON code!) and my need is to export an animator Object to .obj type.

Thanks!
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: [Suggestion] Anim8or Command Line
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2014, 03:30:29 pm »

Very basic this game, bit like Dungeonmaster, would like to be able to shoot or stab the ghoul that consistently appears.

Don`t know why you need a tool for making .objs as you can already do that with export as .obj though I tend to use the wavefront.obj plugin that is around as it will export the mtl file as well.( the built in .obj exporter sometimes does not do that sometimes!)

Just add the plugin to your scripts/plugin folder then re-run Anim8or you should find it in the exporter list when you go to save the model.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2014, 03:35:20 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

joaodotneto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [Suggestion] Anim8or Command Line
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2014, 10:48:17 pm »

Very basic this game, bit like Dungeonmaster, would like to be able to shoot or stab the ghoul that consistently appears.

Don`t know why you need a tool for making .objs as you can already do that with export as .obj though I tend to use the wavefront.obj plugin that is around as it will export the mtl file as well.( the built in .obj exporter sometimes does not do that sometimes!)

Just add the plugin to your scripts/plugin folder then re-run Anim8or you should find it in the exporter list when you go to save the model.
OK, thanks about the plugin, but my need is to complement my tool to create directy the .obj, because create the Anim8or file -> Export to .obj is more assertive, running Anim8or in background using parameters to achieve this.

PS: Sorry about my game is "very basic", i'm starting to make games in 2011.
Logged

cooldude234

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • You know what I realized, I dont have an avatar :\
    • View Profile
Re: [Suggestion] Anim8or Command Line
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2014, 12:25:19 am »

The game its self isn't bad (simple, but not bad), though there seemed to be graphical glitch which allowed me to see the exit half way across the map LOL. Also I didn't know you could get libGDX to run in a browser.

However I totally get what you mean by more automation. But this is what the ASL scripting was implemented for; people would make scripts and create plugins out of them allowing to do more complex stuff with more ease.
This is what Raxx has been doing with things like his Phur Script plugin. The Phur plugin allows you to generate fur or hair on a surface of an object with a few clicks of a button (AND A FEW MINUTES OF WATING, comon raxx make your stuff faster ;P).

As of right now (in my opinion) the ASL scripting language is rather limited, but this is on Steves to do list of updating anim8or so hopefully soon we can see some improvements.
Logged

joaodotneto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [Suggestion] Anim8or Command Line
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2014, 06:07:57 pm »

Thanks for all replies.
I think I posted in the wrong forum, I thought here I would suggest an enhancement for a future release.
About the problem, well, I can solve in other ways, directly generating .obj files without Anim8or, i just think the file structure it more friendly for this type of process.

Thanks again.
Logged