Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Crabby!  (Read 5552 times)

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2014, 09:10:02 pm »

 In figure mode, you cant change the shape of the object.
 If his legs are modelled flat, they'll stay flat until you move the bones in sequence or scene mode.
  Set a nice default stance/pose in sequence mode, and set the sequence to 2 frames long. (setting a sequence to 1 frame used to cause some problems, not sure if it still does, i always use 2 frames, with necessary bones keyed in frame one.)(make sure green key on when moving bones)
 Name sequence something like 'crabby stand', or 'crabby default' and just add it to crabby when you get to scene mode.
 Sequences can be used as 'poses'.. rather than a moving sequence. Really handy. Export sequence to a folder like 'crabbySEQ', ready to use any time in the future.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 09:33:36 pm by johnar »
Logged
%

Arik_the_Red

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 760
  • Just another aninoob...
    • View Profile
    • śwakened!
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2014, 09:41:39 pm »

What is the purpose of the "Default" angle then, in "Figure" mode? Is it something that never got developed?
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2014, 09:57:18 pm »

Quote
What is the purpose of the "Default" angle then, in "Figure" mode?

 The bones in figure mode need to be rotated etc differently to fit  each model. So all/most figures bones are set differently re the model. So.. when the bones are set for that model, then they are at 'default' to suit/fit that model.
 (hope that makes sense)
Logged
%

Arik_the_Red

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 760
  • Just another aninoob...
    • View Profile
    • śwakened!
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2014, 10:10:22 pm »

Nope, doesn't make sense to have a "Default" setting for the angles range, if it has no function except to look nice in figure mode...


Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • View Profile
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2014, 10:26:18 pm »

I think the default setting doesn't do anything. Nice crab btw ;)
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1547
    • View Profile
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #20 on: December 04, 2014, 11:02:36 pm »

#098-050 - Default Joint Angles Non-Functional

I'll definitely fix this.

Don't know why it hasn't been reported before because it looks like it's been that way for a long time (forever?)! I originally added the defaults for IK (don't ask!) which doesn't work very well without a rest point.
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #21 on: December 04, 2014, 11:16:12 pm »

.

. Have just discovered something interesting.
 Changing default value in figure mode seems to make no difference, but if you change the default value in Sequence mode, then the change is made in figure mode.
 This makes me think, i may have a clue at an answer.
 You can set the default pose in figure mode, by changing the default values in sequence mode. .
 Will need to experiment with this........
...

 Ok...Just saw your post Steve. Cool.
 I've never taken any notice of the default values.
 I do remember tho, that objects have never been pose-able in figure mode. Just figured thats how it was meant to be.
 
« Last Edit: December 05, 2014, 10:44:56 am by johnar »
Logged
%

Arik_the_Red

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 760
  • Just another aninoob...
    • View Profile
    • śwakened!
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #22 on: December 05, 2014, 12:32:21 am »

johnar:  Will give that a go and see what comes of it.

Steve:  I was thinking about this, and I dredged my brain a bit and do recall first noticing the "bug" during the period of time when you were gone.  I just never messed with it again. Now I'm at it after about 2 years of being inactive, and came on it again.

Thanks for being back with us and working on your baby.  It's been great having Raxx and others dedicated through the times.  Speaking of which, does anyone know what became of floyd86?
Logged

CrashDrive

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #23 on: December 05, 2014, 06:41:42 am »

Great job on the crab! Really nice.
Logged

Arik_the_Red

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 760
  • Just another aninoob...
    • View Profile
    • śwakened!
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #24 on: December 05, 2014, 01:47:14 pm »

thanks, Crashdrive...

PROJECT GOES ON HOLD!  Sorry folks, but I've been doing this work with a laptop, and I had forgotten that anim8or required a 3 button mouse to move things in certain angles.  I don't have a spare mouse for this laptop, and so am having to put this thing on the backburner...
« Last Edit: December 05, 2014, 01:47:58 pm by Arik_the_Red »
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 929
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #25 on: December 06, 2014, 03:11:05 am »

Great to see some 3D magic from the mind of Arik again, it has been missed!  Re the third mouse button thing, most mice & laptops provide 3rd button functionality another way if no 3rd button is actually present, such as clicking both left and right buttons together or Alt+right click, or something like that.  Is that not a possibility?
Logged

cooldude234

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • You know what I realized, I dont have an avatar :\
    • View Profile
Re: Crabby!
« Reply #26 on: December 09, 2014, 06:20:37 am »

I LOVE IT! But I wouldn't hug it anytime soon :P
Logged
ľ
Pages: 1 [2]