Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Bug report keys in Scene mode  (Read 2583 times)

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Bug report keys in Scene mode
« on: January 01, 2015, 01:26:34 am »

 Happy New Year Steve

 A couple of bugs actually:
 A minor one in Object mode, i've noticed you 'can't hotkey to another function after text'.
 Hope i'm right in assuming its a bug, it's the same in all versions i've tried back to 0.9. Maybe it isn't a bug.
 The next one, imho, is far more exciting, interesting and important.
 Scene mode: Double clicking directly on bones to add keys is not creating keys.
 Sorry steve, i should've mentioned this one a long time ago. Don't know what happened.....
I remember when you first added this ability, and to be honest, although it was a great addition, the little animating i've done since then, i've been habitually keying in the timetrack.
  However, now that i'm realising/(remembering) that adding keys directly by clicking on bones, is such an easier and faster way, i've found that shes not working as designed.
 Thanks for your time.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2015, 05:41:50 am by johnar »
Logged
%

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 828
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Bug report keys in Scene mode
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2015, 02:42:57 pm »

A minor one in Object mode, i've noticed you 'can't hotkey to another function after text'.
 Hope i'm right in assuming its a bug, it's the same in all versions i've tried back to 0.9. Maybe it isn't a bug.
this isn't a bug.  the Text tool is supposed to capture keystrokes and add them to the current text element.

...i think.

tbh, though, i've always thought the Text tool was one of the most oddly-behaved widgets in the anim8or toolbox.
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Bug report keys in Scene mode
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2015, 10:52:47 pm »

Thanks thecolclough
 Just to be more exact in my description.
 I click on the text tool, enter some text, and extrude.
 Finished with that tool and go to shortcut key, say, 'a' for 'select'.
 Doesn't change to select tool. or any others, rotate, scale, etc...
 just seems like it probablymaybe should.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2015, 05:43:21 am by johnar »
Logged
%

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 828
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Bug report keys in Scene mode
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2015, 06:07:30 pm »

i know exactly what you mean; it's caught me out several times too!

the issue is that the text tool doesn't differentiate between when you're editing an element and when you aren't.  it just keeps capturing all keyboard input even when it can't do anything with it.  it would be better if it only captured the keystrokes when you were actually editing a text element, and left them to do their usual hotkey jobs the rest of the time... looking at you, Steve? 8)
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report keys in Scene mode
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2015, 06:18:25 pm »

OK, I see what you are referring to. The Text tool is still active and even though there is no current text object it's still eating all the character strokes. I see two ways to address this (all comments apply to when the Text tool is active):

When there is no "active" text object:
1. Use the hot key settings for any character typed, or
2. Ignore all characters (current behavior), or
3. Create a new text object and add the character to it.

and possibly:

4. After filling or extruding a Text object automatically switch to Select mode.

OK that's more that two :) What do you think?

And Happy new Year!
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 828
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Bug report keys in Scene mode
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2015, 07:49:10 pm »

i'd vote for using hotkey settings.  keeps things consistent.

and a happy new year to you too!
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Bug report keys in Scene mode
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2015, 09:11:02 pm »

Quote
When there is no "active" text object:
1. Use the hot key settings for any character typed
Quote
i'd vote for using hotkey settings.  keeps things consistent.

 Yip, that would get my vote too. Feels right. (consistent)

This could be an exciting year....especially if you'll, (steve) be looking at updating some of the figure\sequence\scene behaviours. woohoo!...
 Really looking fwd to see what you're planning there....
« Last Edit: January 02, 2015, 09:12:48 pm by johnar »
Logged
%

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report keys in Scene mode
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2015, 10:40:30 pm »

Implemented in build 1150 :)
Quote
When there is no "active" text object:
1. Use the hot key settings for any character typed, or
2. Ignore all characters (current behavior), or
3. Create a new text object and add the character to it.
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Bug report keys in Scene mode
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2015, 01:26:51 am »

 Nice one steve
 Much better.
Logged
%