Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: If 1 unit in Anim8or equals 4 pixels...  (Read 1136 times)

Sluggs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Anim8or user since May 2004
    • View Profile
    • Satans-Comrade
If 1 unit in Anim8or equals 4 pixels...
« on: December 01, 2015, 12:32:58 pm »

During my time with Anim8or, I've noticed some weird thing going off when taking screenshots of the work area...

This is what I just did...

I created a 1x1x1 cube and then copied it twice, each time doubling it, so I ended up with 3 cubes...

1 x 1x1x1

1 x 2x2x2

1 x 4x4x4

Now, when I take a screenshot of the work area then paste it into my paint program, the sizes of the cubes are as follows...

The 1x1x1 = 4x4 pixels (Correct)

The 2x2x2 cube = 8x8 pixels (Correct)

The 4x4x4 cube = 18x18 (Should be 16x16 pixels)

Also, sometimes when I have made a cube and took a screenshot of it, it's one number of pixels on one side, and another number of pixels on another side.

What's happening?

Note: My desktop resolution is set to 1024x768 if that makes any difference.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2015, 01:59:19 pm by Sluggs »
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: If 1 unit in Anim8or equals 4 pixels...
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 04:51:12 pm »

This is cause by the way that OpenGL samples polygons when it renders. The pixel is only drawn if the center of it is covered by a polygon. In you case the 4x4x4 cube just barely covers the centers of the additional pixels.  Move it around and the size will probably go from 16<->17<->18.

If you make an anti aliased render you see softer edges  with partially covered pixels.
Logged

Sluggs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Anim8or user since May 2004
    • View Profile
    • Satans-Comrade
Re: If 1 unit in Anim8or equals 4 pixels...
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2015, 05:50:59 pm »

I don't really understand this much, but I thought it might be something else that's causing it, and it not being a problem with Anim8or itself, but if you don't ask...

Also, yeah! I've noticed the pixel counts changing when moving the same cube around! :-)

Thanks Steve!
Logged