Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: An8Helper  (Read 2662 times)

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
    • View Profile
An8Helper
« on: January 11, 2016, 10:14:05 am »

Here's a small tool that enables fullscreen and menu bar auto-hiding.

  • Press F11 to enter fullscreen when in Anim8or
  • Press Shift+F11 to toggle the auto-hiding of the menu bar
  • A tray icon appears in the tray area of your windows task bar. Right-click for options

This isn't meant to be a big supplementary app for Anim8or, just trying out a full screen effect. It doesn't modify the Anim8or code, but rather modifies parameters on the Windows side of things. Use at your own risk.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 03:20:45 am by Raxx »
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 02:10:00 pm »

Wont run on Windows 10 Raxx >:(
Scrub that it will not run on a Windows 10 Tablet, but works fine on my Laptop and Desktop both running Windows 10.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 07:49:15 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

Claude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2016, 03:46:33 pm »

It works OK.
WIN 7
Logged

ronaldefarmer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Ron's Website
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2016, 06:25:54 pm »

This is a great idea, Raxx!! It works on Windows 8. It seems to cut of the top half of Anim8or's menu bar on this particular computer, but that's not a big deal.
Logged

ronaldefarmer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Ron's Website
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2016, 06:37:54 pm »


It seems to cut of the top half of Anim8or's menu bar...

Actually, This only happens if the Anim8or window is maximized when F11 is pressed. Otherwise it works perfectly.
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
    • View Profile
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2016, 08:38:36 pm »

Glad it sorta works kinda. That's usually the case when I make these things using the quickest dirtiest methods. I uploaded a new build that fixes the pre-maximized cut-off issue.

Kreator, not sure why it doesn't work on your tablet. Have you tried adding it as an exception to your antivirus and/or tried running as administrator? Does it at least load the tray icon?

I expect that if Steve tries it and likes it, he might add this feature to Anim8or and make this app redundant, which is fine with me. Then I can go and make something else that sorta works kinda.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 08:38:58 pm by Raxx »
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
    • View Profile
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2016, 09:03:41 pm »

Nifty, raxx.  The F11 full screen key is nice.  I've tried to figure out how to change the colors of the menu bar to the gray and orange scheme but so far without much progress.
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
    • View Profile
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2016, 09:40:35 pm »

Glad you like it! Yeah, the menu bar in Windows seems pretty primitive even after all these years. I spent a while trying to figure it out myself.

I think the best options are to either use the .Net framework, GTK+, or create your own from scratch.
Logged

ronaldefarmer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Ron's Website
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2016, 02:53:46 am »

It doesn't seem to work on my old Toshiba Satellite running Windows 7. I get this message:

« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 02:57:32 am by ronaldefarmer »
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
    • View Profile
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2016, 03:21:10 am »

Whoops. I forgot long ago that I was working on a 64-bit system. Attached to the first post is the 32-bit version. This might also solve kreator's issue.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 03:21:18 am by Raxx »
Logged

ronaldefarmer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Ron's Website
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2016, 04:22:47 am »

That did it...it now works flawlessly on my Satellite. Thanks for doing this!
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
    • View Profile
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2016, 05:50:31 am »

@ronaldefarmer No prob, glad it works!
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2016, 06:10:48 am »

Thanks Raxx, that appeared to be the problem! Who`d believe my tablet is running 32
Bit ... i certainly was not aware of it  ::)
« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 12:26:21 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 812
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2016, 08:23:30 am »

 This is cool Raxx
 Works gr8. My 40 inch monitor seems even bigger now. Nice one. Thanks for that.
Logged
%

Hypure

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Re: An8Helper
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2016, 03:32:43 am »

Looks great
Logged
Pages: [1] 2