Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: when adding textures  (Read 4055 times)

saijeehiguchi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
when adding textures
« on: April 07, 2008, 10:35:50 pm »

ok this is just something that i was bothered by, im aware that this has no effect on how it looks like when its rendered. But when ever i apply a texture to an object, then its shading like dies or something, until i render it that is.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 12:34:54 am »

Would you be willing to show us examples?  Such as, the object with shading before the texture is applied, the object with the texture applied, then the object when rendered?
Logged

Alpha2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 02:01:14 am »

I notice the same thing. If I take a white picture and texture it across the face of a sphere there's no shading anymore atleast on the faces containing the tecture. But I think that's more to keep processing power down so that it dosent slow your computer while modeling.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 02:06:24 am »

Ah, I found the problem.  You're using the normal anim8or shader.  Go, "View>Preferences" and check "use shaders"  That should fix your problem.
Logged

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 07:09:03 am »

Of course, you will need a graphics card that supports OpenGL (every new card has it)
Logged

saijeehiguchi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 08:15:45 pm »

"Use Shaders" is grayed out.

im running on vista if that matters.
Logged

beyond_3rd_dimension

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • My anim8or gallery in facebook
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2008, 08:34:19 pm »

It means your graphics adapter does not support OpenGL required for Anim8or (As Tanzim mentioned earlier).
Logged
I trust only two persons, ME and NOT YOU

saijeehiguchi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2008, 08:41:34 pm »

hmm is there any easy way to fix this?
Logged

beyond_3rd_dimension

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • My anim8or gallery in facebook
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2008, 08:56:53 pm »

Nothing within my knowledge... The only solution is to render each time...
Logged
I trust only two persons, ME and NOT YOU

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2008, 09:34:31 pm »

You can dry updating your graphics card, other than that you'd probably have to buy a new graphics card that supports OpenGL
Logged

CobraSpectre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2008, 02:42:48 am »

To use the shaders you need a video card that supports OpenGL 2 and drivers that have OGL 2 code.

The lowest Nvidia card is the FX5200.
Logged

Claude

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
Re: when adding textures
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2008, 03:43:34 am »

CobraSpectre

Just a precision:

For the shader option to be active,you need a video card supporting
OpenGL 1.4(multitexturing and shader version 1.0).
For the OpenGL renderer to be active,you need a video card supporting
OpenGL 2.0(probably because you need FBO with attached texture).
Logged