Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9

Author Topic: IK tool  (Read 13795 times)

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #105 on: November 27, 2016, 04:35:53 pm »

Yes, there is s problem with 1261. Probably best to use 1258 until I can fix it. Sorry!
Logged

daniel99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 312
  • Me : Anim8or RULLZ \m/
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #106 on: November 28, 2016, 12:49:19 am »

Cool, Steve.
I'm sure you're gonna do an amazing job again. 1258 is the best so far. Had no problems with it.

Btw, just a quick question. This is not a problem, more like a ... I dunno.
So, I've got 2 machines: my laptop and my desktop. In the last year, I barely turned on my desktop. I usually work on my laptop. But there's a big difference I noticed today in the way anim8or is shown.
On my laptop, it has the gray background but on my desktop it's purple. Since in the last year I only used anim8or on my laptop (which it shows gray), I could have sworn the gray BG was a change you made.
My question is: Do you know what influence this? Me personally, I just love the gray BG. How can I change it so my desktop will show the same gray bg? Thanks.
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: IK tool
« Reply #107 on: November 28, 2016, 04:28:36 am »

daniel99
 Under: File -> Configure UI, you'll see an option for 'New Color Scheme'. Theres a box there needs ticking.
Logged
%

daniel99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 312
  • Me : Anim8or RULLZ \m/
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #108 on: November 28, 2016, 04:34:34 am »

Wow, Thanks, Johnar. Ur da man! I didn't knew this! It seems it was automatically checked on my laptop 'cause I don't remember checking the box! :D Thanks man!
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #109 on: December 02, 2016, 06:16:53 pm »

Hi, everyone. I need some more IK examples that crash. If you could post them with directions on how to reproduce the problem it would really help. I don't need any textures, etc. and if you don't want to make your model public you can always e-mail it to me instead.

Thanks!
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: IK tool
« Reply #110 on: December 11, 2016, 07:36:30 am »

 Hi steve.
 Don't know how i missed your last post here, have just seen it, .....   will try to get a few examples together and get them to u.......

 Edit: Are you wanting more crash examples in 1261?,
.. in the last hour i haven't been able to duplicate a crash in 1258,.............. but will keep trying nxt time..........
« Last Edit: December 11, 2016, 09:13:29 am by johnar »
Logged
%

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #111 on: December 14, 2016, 11:31:54 pm »

OK I've fixed a couple of IK related bugs that could crash with build 1263. Hopefully it fixes the problems that you've been encountering. It also eliminates several causes of the end effector drift between keys that are at the same location.

The Rotate Bone tool now moves the location of  affectedend effectors. I think this makes it a lot easier to use both IK and FW together.

I also changed the Move tool to move the locations of locked end-effectors when the animation key is off. This allows you to globally change the location of a character without affecting the animation. When the animate key is on the Move tool acts like moving the root bone under that IK tool except that no new keys are set for the IK effector joints. Let me know what you think.

There is one missing capability that I'm thinking about adding. If you have a completed animation, such as a character walking across a scene, it is very difficult to adjust the path without having to tediously reposition all the end-effectors' keys one-by-one. I think it would be very useful to be able to edit the path and then would change accordingly.  This is a lot of work so I'd like your opinion as to it's usefulness before I start. What do you think?
Logged

daniel99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 312
  • Me : Anim8or RULLZ \m/
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #112 on: December 15, 2016, 09:27:36 am »

Hey Steve. Build 1263 it won't run. I double click it, triple click it, quadruple-click it and nothing...When I go to Windows Task Manager I can see all the an8 1263 instances opened, but they won't run.
Any an8 build it opens in 2-3 seconds, this new one, it doesn't. And it also shows 108K for memory...
Logged

daniel99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 312
  • Me : Anim8or RULLZ \m/
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #113 on: December 15, 2016, 09:32:58 am »

Forgot to mention, when right click and End Process on those an8 copies in the Task Manager, they won't close. I need to restart every time to get rid of them.
An8 it shows about 30,000K for memory when it works, but it only show 108K for 1263, and it won't run :( :( :(
Logged

nemyax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #114 on: December 15, 2016, 12:24:51 pm »

Steve
Why do you hide the axis gizmo when the Lock Position option is on? It should remain available for precise positioning of the end effector.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #115 on: December 15, 2016, 06:37:35 pm »

daniel99: I have a few questions that might help me find the problem.

1. Have you tried running it with the -traceinit command line option?
2. Do you have "Start in Previous" checked in the File->Configuration dialog, or "Autosave"?
3. What OS and what graphics do you have? [See the About->SystemInfo dialog.]
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: IK tool
« Reply #116 on: December 16, 2016, 08:24:49 am »

Steve. MENU FOLDERS FOR BONES!!!
 Showing in Scene mode and working exactly as expected. The days of lengthy scrolling up and down in the timetrack are over.
 Thank you so, so much. That's just absolutely friggin awesome.
 (Plans for same in Sequence mode?)
 Haven't had a lot of time with anim8or recently, but that'll be changing very soon, and i'll definately make time this weekend to take 1263 for a decent spin.
 No problems here as described by daniel99. (In fact,have been using it for the last hour with no problems at all so far).
 OpenGL Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
 OpenGL Renderer: GeForce 8600 GT/PCIe/SSE2
 OpenGL Version: 3.3.0
 OS Version: Windows 7 (6.1) build 7600

 'start in previous' is not selected.
 'Autosave' is selected 
 
 This is so cool. I'll be doing a lot of 'rig organising' with menu folders this weekend. Thats so good to see that in the timetrack.
 Will give the IK a decent go as well, and get back to you with updates on how its all working here.
 (edit: And will comment on latest tweaks and fixes etc, which you have described in your post)
 This is just blinkin awesome. Cheers steve, Well done.........

 Edit2. Task Manager shows anim8or using 46,520 K, at idle.. with 1 figure. File size is 3,646 KB, .....if that's any help there....
« Last Edit: December 16, 2016, 10:50:27 am by johnar »
Logged
%

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: IK tool
« Reply #117 on: December 16, 2016, 09:47:05 am »

 OK.  Am now beginning to see some issues in Scene mode... 1263
 'Anim8or stops working'... when scaling a figure in scene mode.
 easily reproduceable...
  Edit: Scaling object in scene mode has same result...

 (Will send you those files you were asking for, after i get a chance to test some more and 'document' etc.....)
 
« Last Edit: December 16, 2016, 10:43:08 am by johnar »
Logged
%

daniel99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 312
  • Me : Anim8or RULLZ \m/
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #118 on: December 16, 2016, 11:07:42 pm »

Hey Steve.
I've managed to make 1263 work. I believe it was a local problem on my laptop. But I still don't know what was the cause.
Before that, (see the vid) I created a new folder and copied all the builds in there. Only a couple of them run. You can see in the Task Manager the ones that didn't run and the one that did run.
Also, I show in the vid the problems with those Spider/Werewolf legs, and the weird wiggle it happens.

System info (for the laptop, where this problem happened):
OpenGL Vendor: Intel
OpenGL Renderer: Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500
OpenGL Version: 4.4.0 - Build 20.19.15.4463
OS Version: Windows 7 (6.1) build 7600


  [/youtube]



Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: IK tool
« Reply #119 on: December 17, 2016, 01:19:27 am »

daniel99: I suspect that it's the graphics driver for the Intel chip. Try using the original OpenGL path in Anim8or but un-checking the "Options->Debug->NewOGLRenderer" option. Also try turning shaders off in the View->Preferences dialog.

As I've said before, I'm working on locking the orientation. It's not ready yet.

As for the legs wiggling, does that happen when you play the animation? It should be a bit more stable there.  The issue is that there are an infinite number of solutions with that chain of 3 bones. The angle between the shin-bones and feet isn't changing. The foot wiggle is simple a result of the shin-bone changing orientation.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9